Chang Mai to Burma


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
August 18th 2005
Published: January 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I woke up at 8am psyched to play some paintball with the boys. Unfortunately it was too far and time was too short. So instead I checked out of my place, said goodbye to the guys, and purchased my ticket back to Barcelona. For breakfast I had a delicious open-faced bagel with eggs and salad on top, complete with a refreshing mango lassi. Then I got a nice Thai massage and passed out as knees were placed into various joints and spots in my back. At 12:15pm I caught a tuk-tuk to the airport and arrived with plenty of time. I killed time in the airport by eating a delicious chicken curry and following it up with a nice Black Canyon coffee. I sat reading in the gate until somebody came and grabbed me to board the flight. I was the lats passenger onboard and miraculously we left on-time. I passed out for most of the flight and before I knew it I was in line for immigration in the modern-looking new international Mandalay Airport. I grabbed my shit and when I went to grab a cab I was the only one around. I was surprised by the $9 price tag and so I decided to wait for the next flight to come in so that I could share a ride with someone else. So I caught my first sun in weeks and caught up on some readings as I laid in front of the arrival arch. Various taxi drivers came and chatted with me periodically but despite this seeming friendliness I just wanted them to leave me be. Finally a pair of people popped out and I shared a cab with them into the city. The young driver weaved past bikes and trucks like a horn-happy madman and I snapped off photos of the various people we passed by. The first guess house we stopped by was full so I chose another one called Nylon Hotel. It was set up like a cheap motel and the staff were friendly.

I borrowed money to pay the cab and threw my shit in the room. Then I walked out and followed the advice of an old white guy, Edmond, that I met in the hotel lobby. He advised me to go find an Indian exchange place a few blocks away but I went there the only place I could find was an Indian clothing shop run by a really friendly Indian guy and his family. he fed me food and tea as we chatted about various subjects. Finally I got a bit antsy and excused myself to catch some food at a fried noodle shop around the corner.. It was delicious. When I returned to the shop his 19year old son was waiting for me and drove me on his scooter to the big Adora Hotel to try and exchange some money. We returned unsuccessful.

I began walking down 80th street, the mini-China Town and finally managed to find a place that accepted by Thai Baht. I saw a few bars but they were all pretty low key with only locals hanging about. So I made my way to the hostel and was directed to a local restaurant where a bunch of people were taking drinks. I read and drank for about an hour before retiring back at my hotel.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb