Arrival: Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 2nd 2007
Published: November 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I finally made it! I arrived this morning in the Chiang Mai airport-- after a string of airports (and one hotel) over the last 48 hours. I flew out of Phoenix at 7:30 am on the 30th, then got stuck in San Francisco for the night because the airline forgot to confirm my flight with the alliance carrier. But they put me up in a shmancy hotel and gave me some meal vouchers, so besides the initial disappointment it wasn't the end of the world. And, being in San Fran allowed me to survive my first ever earthquake. 😊

From there I was able to get to Narita, Japan, on an 11 hour flight, which was suprisingly comfortable despite being in the lowest class cabin available. I sat by myself next to the windows and gorged on movies displayed on the back of the headrest in front of me. I must have watched "Hairspray" 3 times, once in Japanese. Only the last hour seemed to drag. Eventually we landed in Tokyo and I switched onto another slightly more crowded flight to Thailand. I sat next to an older couple and silently pouted to myself that United Airways serves the worst food imaginable on their flights. Really and truly I don't recommend them unless you want to pack your own grub.

Five hours later we touched down at Bangkok's new blue glass airport (think Lattie Coor meets the Sydney Opera House) and I got my first glimpse of the country. Two of my most immediate impressions were that the bus windows fog over with condensation from such extreme humidity, and the King's face is printed on virtually everything, including those tunnels that connect the planes to the buildings, on which is printed in bold letters: Long Live the King!
I "slept" overnight in the crystal clean airport (along with dozens of other travelers) and got to practice my uber-elementary Thai language skills on the airport personel. They all loved it. Thank you, Pimsleur Thai. 😊 I can say "I am an American person, what are you?" and "Would you like to get some wine?" and a dozen other random phrases.

My flight to Chiang Mai was incredibly short (52 minutes) and before I knew it we arrived in the lush mountain jungle city. From the window I could see a blanket of green trees and numerous wat spires. The moment I stepped out of the airport I fell in love. (Sorry Chris, but you'll see why soon) The city reminds me of a smaller, much cleaner Vientam. There are trees and flowers everywhere, as well as temples and motobikes, and lots of street stalls.

My newest couchsurfing buddy, Tue, picked me up on her motorbike and gave me a tour of the city, stopping to sit on blue plastic chairs and eat tofu and veggies while we got to know each other. She is awesome. 😊 We went back to her flat near CM University (which btw doesn'thave a kitchen so she gets to eat out at every meal) and dropped my bags before going out to explore. Riding on motorbikes is so much fun, and definitely the best way to get to know a city. We stopped in at the lig art museum where they had an exhibit about the king's sister (she has cancer and they're at the same hospital in Bangkok), as well as wander a food fare. Even Tue couldn't identify all the pickled and dried foods, it was funny.

Later in the evening we went back downtown to meet her friends at a restaurant (Mexican, oh the irony). It was one of a string of farang restaurants-- very expensive and oh so bohemian. On each side of us were live reggae and ska bands, very nice. It began raining so we shifted under the straw hut rooftop and I got to know a lot of foreigners teaching english here at AUA. Eventually we moved next door to listen to music, huddling on a raised mat with a low table. Finally tuckered out, we rode home in the drizzling rain, but at least its cool out. For now, we're going to crash and tomorrow I will call my next couchsurfing buddy.... Good night!



Advertisement



4th November 2007

hooray!
So glad you've arived at last. Have you caught any of the king's birthday celebrations? Are there plumeria trees? (The ones that perfume the air).
4th November 2007

Oh my god courtney!!!
Oh my god courtney----- You're there!!! and You're doing it! I love you so much and envy how brave you are. Isn't it weird how all your troubles fade when you see a smiling face? I bet Tue was smiling when she picked you up!!!! I just received your note that you wrote on the plane and loved it. Thank you for sending me that letter that I wrote you in Mexico. Now it's my turn to keep it for a while haha. Lets make a tradition of meeting up in random places all over the world! Please write as often as possible. I am taking tests and working so I need to live vicariously through you for a while.....Be safe. Love you Anne
5th November 2007

Trees, Flowers and Temples, Oh Mai
Chiang Mai sounds beautiful, I'm glad you're having a good time with your couchsurfing buddy, maybe when I come into town it will be you picking me up from the airport on a motorbike. Hang in there, I love and miss you!!

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb