Meditation Retreat


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
May 9th 2007
Published: May 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Class of 2007Class of 2007Class of 2007

This was our class, lots of different nationalities... Can you spot me?
I was really interested about doing this retreat after hearing about it. I thought it would be great to learn to meditate and learn about buddhism in general (especially after attending the Monk Chat) You can check it out online www.monkchat.net. The photos from our time there will be online soon, as it was a little difficult for me to take photos when we were suppose to be chanting or meditating!

Unfortunately I was ill from the dinner the night before so nearly didnt go. Managed to rest a little before we had to leave so felt better, but still weak and tired. This did make the whole experience a lot tougher. Found it really difficult to kneel for so long and relax and keep my eyes closed as I kept drifting off!

For most of the time there we werent suppose to talk, which was really difficult. Was so wierd sat eating with people and there being a silence sign on the table. We were all wearing the same white robes, so looked like something out of "one flew over the cookoos nest". I got the giggles constantly!

If anyone comes to Thailand, and in particular Chiang Mai I do recommend it. Id like to try it again when Im feeling more fit and healthy. Nothing to worry about Im feeling much better now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

TransportTransport
Transport

Well I felt I was in the army when we travelled in this truck to the meditation centre. The centre was outside of Chiang Mai, where there were lots of farmland, very pretty!
The Centre GatesThe Centre Gates
The Centre Gates

The centre was immaculate. Very impressive indeed!
Our roomOur room
Our room

I shared with Pauline, very good roomy. Everything at the centre was so clean and ordely, better than a lot of accomodation Iv experience so far..and this was free!!
The CanteenThe Canteen
The Canteen

This is where we ate in silence. Very strange, as I was feeling ill I wasnt eating much so preferred to go lye down!
HummmmmmmmmHummmmmmmmm
Hummmmmmmmm

I had to take this in between Chanting and Meditating..
Meditation ClassMeditation Class
Meditation Class

We did some chanting and also learnt about sitting, standing, lying, walking meditation!


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb