Pad Thai and "You Should Meet My Sister!"


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 25th 2007
Published: February 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

You are now looking at a guy who can make not one, not two, but five Thai dishes and a dessert to boot. Spent yesterday morning at a Thai Cooking School learning how to make some of the major dishes around here. It was really nice, Susan and I were the only people in the morning class so we got a lot of one on one time with the teacher. First we went off to the market to buy the staple things we would need for the day. I got a quick run down on the veggies and all of the onions and the like.

It was really cool to see all the people milling and seeding around the market. The butcher section and the seafood stalls were great. There was so much fresh food there. The fruit looked fantastic and the people were all really nice.

The first meal that we learned how to make was Pad Thai (noodles with chicken, and fresh veggies.) We were each given a large meat cleaver to do all the cutting, chopping, and of course smashing (Susan Loved that last part!) I think I did pretty darn good when it was all said and done. I think I will have to get a Wok for when I am home, it was really easy to cook with it. plus I liked just the feel of it.

Also made this FANTASTIC soup, I have to make it for you all. I mean WOW this stuff just made my taste buds jump up and dance. Now while we were eating all this great cooking (made by yours truely) One of the guys who works there started talking with Susan and I he was nice and he really wanted to practice his english. Well anyway he showed me a picture of his sister and kept going on how a lot of Thai women want American Husbands . . . I will leave it at that :P

Susan was not feeling well after that so she went back to the Guest House and I just walked around and checked out the local stuff. Later that night we went out to this Resturant/Bar called the "Riverside" and it was as the name would tell on the river. Anyway I did not bring a camera (Sorry), but I did get to listen to a lot of Local Thai Bands covering 1950 Soft Folk Rock songs and then some more modern ones. It was interesting to say the least. OH and I did have a massive amount of Pineapple. God I love Pineapple and it is so damn cheap here! Any way gotta run we are catching a van up to Susan's village and I am attending a Thai Wedding tomorrow. More pictures to come.



Advertisement



11th March 2007

More Thai dishes you can learn
Hey. why stop at 5 Thai dishes Heres a online Thai cooking class you can take to learn more dishes www.thaifoodtonight.com

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb