Helping My Friends to Take a Tesol Training Course in Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
March 9th 2020
Published: March 9th 2020
Edit Blog Post

One of the things I really love about living in Chiang Mai is having friends stay over. I get to show them the sights and sounds of the city, which helps me rediscover them as well. Recently I hosted my friend from Australia. She had come over to Thailand to take a TESOL course at Seu TESOL and needed a place to stay for a few days while finding an apartment. Of course, I thought this was a great opportunity to do a little exploring and to show off my city.


Finding A Place To Stay




As always when searching for an apartment, we had to look at a few before finding something that was just right. I have to admit, I got a little concerned as the first few places we looked at weren't really big enough. But I needn't have worried. We soon found a place that was fine. It's close to a big park and transport links and not too far from the school. It is also nicely furnished and not too small. And best of all, it's close to my own apartment so I already know the neighbourhood and can show her around.


Exploring The Neighbourhood




The first day after she arrived, my friend and I just did a little exploring, to help her get a feel for the area. I always enjoy these trips out, because I get to show off the place I'm proud of and also refresh my own experiences a little. After walking around some of the local green spaces, we got lunch at one of my favourite eateries at the Star Avenue Lifestyle Mall. In the afternoon we took a walk down by the river.


Shopping For Books




The next day I decided to show my friend one of my favourite book shops in Chiang Mai. This was particularly good for her as it stocks many English books, so she could get some inspiration for her upcoming studies. I know she'll be back here in the weeks ahead, because it's such a great place for books from all over the world. There are also many cafés nearby, selling excellent cakes and pastries.


Saturday Night Out




On Saturday, we met up with some of my local friends for a night out. Many of my friends are also pursuing TESOL training at Seu TESOL and are preparing to go to colleges and universities in the UK and the US. As usual, I decided to cook for everyone, using the ingredients we had bought at the market earlier in the day. I love catering for friends and everyone seemed to enjoy the food. Later we went to Hard Rock Cafe for a few drinks and lots of conversation and then some dancing.


Sunday Hiking Trip




After a big night out, a good walk in the mountains is a great way to refresh yourself. So we went out to one of the national parks and took a long walk in the forest. It was an amazing day and we saw lots of beautiful wildlife. By Monday it was time for my friend to move into her new apartment, and I helped her unpack. I'm sure we'll be seeing lots more of each other over the coming months during her TESOL training.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb