Long Day


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 4th 2019
Published: January 8th 2019
Edit Blog Post

We FINALLY arrived in Chiang Mai at 10:00 pm today after traveling for almost 24 total hours! The first flight from D.C. to South Korea was the longest...14 hours! I slept a lot and Shelby and I watched some movies together so it went by fast. After a short layover in Korea, we hopped on another plane for 6 more hours. Compared to the first flight, this one was a breeze! Flying has never made me nervous or anxious, as I've had the opportunity to travel often. I just get really sore from sitting and remaining stationary for so long. I wish I could just run laps around the plane! The food on the flight was actually much better than I expected! They were very accommodating for my gluten allergy, as well as Shelby and Sierra too. They served us Korean rice with yummy vegetables and beef. One more thing they had on the tray was...seaweed soup! I'm not usually a picky eater, but this soup actually smelled like dead fish. BUT, being the curious traveler I am, I decided to try some...and I made Shelby try some too. It definitely tasted better than I though, but that doesn't mean I'd be willing to try some again.



After we arrived at Chiang Mai International Airport, we waited in THE BIGGEST mess of a line to get through customs. There was about 8 different lines, which had no order at all. Everyone was pushing, smushed up against each other, and yelling in Thai. It was definitely not the most peaceful way to be welcomed into the country, but I understood the chaos. After that mess, we claimed our luggage and headed to the airport lobby to meet our Thai buddies! This was the moment we've all been waiting for, as we've been in contact with them for weeks. As soon as Fah and Jade saw me, they ran over and gave me a big hug! I felt so welcomed! This definitely made up for the craziness and frustration we experienced at customs. I was surprised how well Jade and Fah spoke English! I defiantly got very lucky to have them as my buddies because they are so kind, talkative, and funny!



After we arrived at the college, we went to our apartments. I will be rooming with Molly, Shelby, Imogen, and Becca...aka: and AWEOME group! We were all dog tired, so we just went straight to bed. Can't wait for tomorrow...word on the street is we're going shopping!!



That's all for now,

Nat

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb