Our Trek...oh my god!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 7th 2006
Published: November 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Nikki and AliNikki and AliNikki and Ali

The trip begins. x
Hey guys
Well we have just arrived back from out trek today and we have just managed to shower for the first time in days....dont worry tho...no we were clean...supposedly through washing in a stream (take a look at the pics!)

Back to the beginning....
We arrived in Bangkok on the thursday absolutley shattered managed to get to our hotel which was really nice and just crashed out till we had our welcome meeting. There we met our leader who is a native thai person and didnt seem to speak english all that well, although he definatley improved. Me and Ali just wanted to go to bed but we ended up going out for a meal with the other 3 american peeps and our leader. Nice food.....mmmmm... lush! The next day we met the rest of our group after looking round Bangkok markets..... oh my god...we were in heaven the shops!!!! wow!!! Anyway we then got the over night train to Chang Mai this seemed comfortable but for some reason neither Ali nor I could sleep, the food was so spicy that we could hardly eat it so we had a midnight snakc to keep us going. (Thankyou for the
Elephant TrekkingElephant TrekkingElephant Trekking

Nikki, ali and ....... ROCKY!
cereal bars mum... love you!) We shared a cabin with two other english girls our age, really nice. Chang Mai is a lovelly part of thailand alot more rural than Bangkok! Lots of temples...see pics which were nice but for me its like once you have seen one you have seen them all!

Our trekking begins.....two new english girls have joined the gorup who seem lovely aswell a total of 12.We have to pack all our stuff in to trek bags. Our first stop is the elephant riding. They are so cute! me and ali sat together and it was hilarious, you fed them bananas and bamboo shoots and we rode and ours was a little greedy and if you didnt feed him he would blow air at you (elephant breath!) luckliy ali got the brunt of it! So we rode for about half an hour including some sttep down hills which were a little scary....especially when our driver(man on the elephant's neck) said 'oh my god!' as we were going down the hill.....doesnt restore much confidence!

Anway we trekked for three days after this, it wasnt too hard as it was only about 2/3 hrs a day
The girlsThe girlsThe girls

Nikki, ali, Emma and Jes
and we stopped to eat watermelon and play games! The accomodation was nice we stayed in this village were the poeple are so tiny and cute! they basically live in the olden days, they had so many traditions like if a guy wanted to marry a girl he had to go to her house every night and say love poems to her for like 2 years!! (y do english men not have to do that lol!, 2nd thoughts would probably cringe me out hey georgina!) I mentioned the accomodation being nice which it was! The toilet on the other had was as ali put it...'something else!" just a hole and you had to crouch down oh god im not even going into it...me and ali had many a chuckle over it! It was so nice to see how these people lived tho....we almost wanted to be a part of it!

Anway we are back now, we are going out for a nice meal as a group and maybe go to some bars then we have the over night train again tommorow night and there we are on our own....ahhhh!

How is home? Let me know i love you all more than anything!!!!
Love Nikki

Advertisement



8th November 2006

Well hello traveller!!!!
Hey Babe, Its soo nice to hear from you! Glad you have arrived back after trek in one piece. Your elephant riding sound hilarious - I bet Mum had a slight heart murmor when she read that. I remember when Daz and I went on them in Sri Lanka - he was terrified and was clinging on to me for dear life!!!!! (Course he says that it was uncomfortable and thats why he looks so awkward in the pics!!!!) The serenading of the thai girls is a bit of an eye opener and yes based on past history I am certain that would cringe you out in less than a week!!!! Hope you enjoy the Bangkok markets after your trek, I know you are going to be in shopping paradise!!! Life back home is cold grey and wet and I miss you soooooooooooooo much but its great to hear how your journey is going and then I feel like you aren't that far away. Daz and I have just booked a long weekend in Paris (8th-11th Dec) which I am really looking forward to - i know it doesn't compare to your travelling plans! Well I had best go as I am still a work!!!!! Keep blogging and please keep each othe safe in Bangkok. Love you more than anything, jenxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
9th November 2006

sounds brilliant
wow..everything sounds so exciting and like you two are really enjoying yourselves and having such a brilliant time, which is really really good to hear..i especially loved hearing about the elephant riding and poor chisholm being subjected to all the elephant breath!! ..can't wait to see the photos and hear the next installment, hope your travels continue on such a good note!! lots of love, wheeler x
13th November 2006

Hello!!!
Wow, you've certainly crammed a lot in in your first few days. Sounds like you are both having an absolute blast!! Is really nice to read what you've been up to and see some of your photos. You are certainly a braver girl than I, washing in streams and using a hole in the ground. I like my creature comforts too much!! Am really looking forward to reading the next chapter of your travels and hearing what exciting things you've been doing. Well back in good old England the weather is not as good as it looks in your photos! We went on the golf weekend with your Mum, Dad, Jen, Darren and a whole host of others 16 of us in total!! It was really good fun and was nice to all get together and have a laugh. We've also had an offer accepted on a house that we like, so all being well we'll be moving house at the start of next year, so keep your fingers crossed for us!! Anyway, better get on. Have a fantastic time, keep us posted and most importantly take care and look after each other. Lots of love, Chez xxx
14th November 2006

Ditzy moment!!!
Nix, I just couldn't resist emailing you and telling you of my very blonde moment last night. So....I was in the bathroom at Mum and Dad's having just had a shower after my knackering pilates class. I was tired and I just needed to take my make up off before I could go to bed. Instead of opening the drawer and using the make-up remover that I normally use, feeling lazy I grabbed your bottle of cleanser WITH TEA TREE OIL EXTRACTS. I did stop to check I could use it, read, 'cleanser to remove make up' and rubbed two huge dollops on to my eyelids!! Within seconds I knew I had made a BIG mistake, that stuff stings and is definitely not meant for eye make up removal. I called Mum and whilst I remained very calm - simply washing out my poor eyes, she provided helpful comments such as 'your eyes are very delicate and therefore you should not put lotions on them that say avoid contact with eyes!!!' (you know the sort cause she's worried!!!) Anyway after washing them for ten minutes last night they felt better and they are now just a little dry (another side effect of the tea tree oil is it removes moisture -whoops!) so I have got some eye drops. I just wanted to keep you posted so that you knew that whilst you are not at the house I am obviously trying to fill your 'ditzy shoes' and appear to be doing quite well!!!! Love you Loads! Let us know what the islands are like -love you so much and take care always !!!!! jxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
15th November 2006

Hazzaar!
nikk/ali sounds like pure jokes an majestic antics, what life is all about i say! ima so ruddy enviouse. keep the pics an blogs'a comin in and let the good times roll! peace love and unity p.s dig that killer hat! the migmiester

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb