Day 11: Final day in Chiang Mai‏


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai » Doi Suthep
December 20th 2012
Published: December 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was again a bit of a lazy day, starting with breakfast in bed - thanks to the hotel porter. I wasn't feeling too well and so our activities were somewhat limited. We decided to visit the famous temple on the hill 'Doi Suthep' but after a short taxi ride there were still 306 steps to climb! This temple has a really interesting story behind it - the king attached a relic of the temple to an elephants back and declared that wherever the elephant ended up the new temple would be built. The elephant climbed to the top of the mountain and ended its days under the jack fruit tree. This is where the temple now stands. Back in Chiang Mai we prepared for our departure - I treated myself to a pedicure so that my toes would be ready for the beach! We then hopped aboard for Round 2 of the sleeper train back to Bangkok.

Bailey's bit:

I have enjoyed my time in Chiang Mai, my one reservation is (I know this is being slightly hypocritical) the number of tourists. While the heart of the city is still Thai, the surface has a slightly more 'Benidorm' feel to it. The economy is based on tourism and to quote Cat "people from the ages of 2 to 90 are looking at ways to exploit tourist" (in the nicest sense of the term). Still I will look back with very fond memories.

Daily Mileage: 6 After a not too great nights sleep on my considerably more comfortable bed I just went out and ran the perimeter for half an hour before heading back to the hotel. Hoping to talk Cat into going and hopefully get into the sports club tomorrow to some sort of session, find out if I was successful tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb