Flying in the jungle


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai » Doi Suthep
December 19th 2011
Published: December 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in late to Bangkok but the taxi ride was smooth into the hostel after the driver rang up for directions in Thai. The hostel was a nice place, quiet as it was away from the infamous Khoa San road but it was good to meet fellow travellers. On my first day I ventured out to the Grand palace, which was spectacular & beautiful. I tried the local night market for dinner, with the tasty Pad Thai. For the next few days I strolled around with friends, visiting Chinatown, the train station & ,of course, the Khoa San road. I am now the proud owner of a dress!! I also popped into the stray office a few times to ensure that I was on the bus on Saturday.

The bus has just started going through Sukhothai again after the flooding so we caught the bus from Bangkok, which was smarter than I was expecting with air con & comfy seats. We were served water & cake on arrival & stopped for lunch, where I ate a very spicy dish that had to be followed by yoghurt. 3 guys missed the bus so they caught up with us in the evening so there is a good group of 9 of us on the bus plus Steve, our Aussie guide. After cycling around the historic park yesterday to see the ruins, we caught another bus to Chiang Mai & had dinner at the Sunday night market, which was very tasty. I have also tasted a couple of coconuts since my arrival but unfortunately it is not so customary to eat the flesh.

Today I went flying through the forest on zip wires as I did flight of the Gibbon & saw the local family of Gibbons. It was amazing fun & the longest zip line was about 800m long & the highest platform was 120m above the ground. This included a lovely curry for lunch & a stop to see a waterfall on the way back to town.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.069s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb