Final Night In Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai » Doi Suthep
August 22nd 2011
Published: August 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm sure I could have conjured up a more inventive title, but... it does the job.

And so you may have guessed; it is indeed our final night in Chiang Mai. Tomorrow, if all goes to plan, we should be collecting our passports, with Indian visa enclosed, and boarding a ricketty, claustrophobic train, back to Bangkok. Delightful!

The past few days have not been exactly noteworthy. Aleko did finish his TESOL (big round of applause), but appears to be unleashing a worryingly random side, when out of the blue, he informs me that if it's been 24 hours since he last shaved, and I've got an itchy hand, I can feel free to scratch it by rubbing it on his chin.

Marvelous. Isn't this the kind of anecdote I should be telling about my (currently nonexistent) kids? well, other than the facial hair, obviously.

Anyway... Aleko is a kind soul, to make such an offer, as I'm sure you agree.

Today we dropped by the Indian consulate, to see if our visas would be ready early. The answer was No. We also ate at a rather fantastic salad bar, called The Salad Concept. Seared salmon, with wholewheat spaghetti, olives, corn, almonds, seaweed, and different exciting greens. And a delicious tofu sauce (I never thought I'd use the words "delicious"and "tofu" in the same sentence).

So... from our time in Thailand, you can come to the conclusion that we have eaten in restaurants, and enjoyed hot drinks in cafes. There you have it! Thailand in a nutshell.

Aren't I the sourpuss, eh? Ho hum. We have done a lot of exploring around the city, on a motorcycle, in our defense. I do wish we'd got to see more of Bangkok, however. We will have 24 hours to sight-see, this time around.

And, as I'm sneezing away at the computer (I seem to be coming down with some exotic disease... probably a cold), I wish you adieu, and will probably write again from India... unless something unusually exciting occurs.

Much love to you all! xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb