Downpour


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai » Doi Suthep
August 16th 2011
Published: August 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I hadn't realized that my previous entry didn't upload, and so I just now had to upload it (something to do with not having entered my location). Apologies.

It's been a pretty regular schedule of rain, the past few days. However, we have managed to squeeze in some intereting pastimes, such as visiting Chiang Mai Zoo, driving a motorcycle up the mountain outside Chiang Mai, to a famous temple... only to not bother to go in, and also meander around a shopping mall.

Exciting.

Actually, I take the sarcasm back. I enjoyed the zoo, for the most part. I had envisioned something along the lines of Kunming zoo - ie. concrete, and very cramped living conditions for the animals. Chiang Mai zoo is actually kept rather natural, but with a lot of construction equipment screwn around. Aleko was bowled over by the elephants (I didn't get too near the big one, as it wasn't chained to anything, and there was just a short wooden fence in front of it), and made contact, when the elephant put it's trunk over the fence, inquisitively, to touch him. He seemed like a pretty mellow animal, to be fair.

My personal favorite was the Slow Loris, which was sound asleep in it's cage. Out of love for his wife, Aleko shook the poor bastard awake, so that he pulled the towel back from his head, and timidly stared at us, to see if his life was in danger. After assessing that it was indeed not, and that we came in (relative) peace, he pulled the towel back over his head, and entire body, and slumped back into slumber. I knew I could never be disappointed with such an animal.

(Aleko after reading over my shoulder, just did an impression of a Slow Loris. I am very lucky to have married an individual so competent in impersonating animals)

It had been years since I'd been in a zoo... and it was a fun morning. There was an aquarium onsite, too, but for whities, the charge was 520 baht per person... a bit out of our league. 100 baht each for entry to the zoo was money well spent, however.

And on to Doi Suthep. The temple that all the backpackers make a spiritual pilgrimage to. We just wanted a change of scenery. It was nice to be amongst greenery again, after days of living in the city. The winding roads that lead us up to the top of the mountain, were punctuated with spots to stop and enjoy the view of the city. Beautiful! We decided on reaching the temple, to just continue further to the intriguingly named Phuphing Palace (yes, the h's are silent in Thailand). We were somewhat disappointed on arrival to the palace gates, that it was not shaped as a giant lavatory, and so, digusted at the false advertising, we made our descent... and stopped along the way, at a very unique coffee shop, which was tiny, and made of wood and stone.

That was a couple of days ago. My memory fails me at what else we've been doing. Ahhh yes, watching a lot of the Asian Food Network (old episodes of American Food Network chefs). We have become fond of the gentle giant Michael Smith, and his show "Chef at Home".

Yes... really living the hedonistic Thailand lifestyle, as I'm sure you can tell. We DID, however, go to an art exhibition yesterday- I think it was just from the university, and I had expected a load of pretentious crap. However, I was proven wrong - a lot of talent. I was shocked. No elephant crap on a canvas, then.

Not much else to report. We are still trying to adjust to the climate. I am again made aware of what a weakling I am, when I come to a 3rd world country... or a hot country. No stand-out food poisoning, but have been feeling iffy for some days. All we're waiting on now, are our India visas, which are due on Tuesday (although we're planning on stopping by on Monday, to see if we can get them early), and then the dreaded overnight rollercoaster to Bangkok.

However, all has not been wasted. The cheap internet access has meant Aleko has been able to crack on with his online TESOL. We have received our open city contracts from the institute in China, which we just need to sign and return, and things should be a lot more final!

More rain outside... we hope to eat at the street market again tonight (we have been making a habit of it). Lots of grilled meats, and noodle soup-type malarkies. We returned the motorcycle today, in the hopes of more walking tomorrow (if the rain stays away). Me, I would quite happily stay in bed with my Nook, and read. I feel like we have fully explored Chiang Mai, and an disappointed we will only have one full day in Bangkok to explore, before India. O well - I suppose the grass is always greener, eh?! If I could do it again, I would have gone to Koh Phi Phi, Pattaya, and seen more of Bangkok (in our defense, we had thought we'd spend the last 5 days in Bangkok - however, with this visa business, the plan has had to change).

Here's to India!

I hope this reaches you all well. Much love! xxx



Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb