Motorbike


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Dao
September 1st 2010
Published: September 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Banana!Banana!Banana!

Banana tree:)
After riding farther north in an overheated sorng-taa-ou for two hours, we arrived in Chiang Dao. The sun was extremely strong and it was scorching hot beating down on my body. We wandered down the street for a moment, before deciding that we were without desire of wandering the streets finding a place to sleep. We talked to a couple of tourists who recommended renting a motorbike and taking it seven kilometers to the Nest, a lovely accommodation (and to boot, a Lonely Planet ‘pick’).

We entered the motorbike rental shop and expressed our interest. Five minutes later, after simply leaving David’s passport with the employee, we were proud renters of a Honda motorbike. David kick strated the machine and I sat behind him and we were off.

Stop. Go. Stop. Accelerate. Jerk.

“Are you sure about this? Maybe this is a bad idea. The drivers here are crazy,” I said. I obviously was scared.

Moments later: “I am not riding on this thing.” I insited we go down a calm soi (lane) and he practice driving the bike while I stood on the side of the road. After several trips up and down the block, I
The Nest 2The Nest 2The Nest 2

A bit better than the other bamboo house we stayed in...
felt more confident in David’s ability to smoothly operate the bike and I got back on.

We rode towards our hotel, which was off the busy street and into back-country roads lined with mango trees, banana trees, coconut trees and beautiful agriculture. We got sidetracked and wandered around on the bike, discovering a hot springs and several buffalo working in the fields and being herded by their owner. It was beautiful.

In route to our hotel, the rainy season came through. It started to pour. We were drenched when we reached our hotel. With saggy shirts and pants and water dripping from my hair, I stood at the front door. A kind woman looked at me, a bit with pity, and said, “Oh, rainy. Come in, come in.”

The woman gave us each a towel and then showed us a room, which was lovely. It was a bamboo bungalow nestled in a yard filled with banana and mango trees, among others.

Having the motorbike was a good investment. We were able to explore more of Chiang Dao on our own terms without having to pay a driver. We stayed just one night, although we would have
BreakfastBreakfastBreakfast

This was my breakfast at the Nest...it had really delicious food. But, doesn't Thailand always? (Ok, almost always)
loved to enjoy the Nest 2’s restaurant and rooms more.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Chiang DaoChiang Dao
Chiang Dao

Chiang Dao Caves
UsUs
Us

The two of us at the caves
ViewView
View

The view from the restaurant at our Nest...
WatWat
Wat

We walked to to the top of this Wat...gorgeous views.


9th September 2010

David's Passport
Way to stay safe, Jennifer; have the boyfriend stranded abroad while you return home with your PASSPORT!!!!! Please don't separate yourselves again. Your passport is your lifeline, believe me. WOW!!! The photos are beautiful. I can visualize you both stopping and starting on the motor bike. This reminds me of when my father taught me how to drive a stick shift at 15. Again, Jennifer, way to stay safe; have the boyfriend drive and risk his life!! I am so happy for you both as this sounds like, truly, a life changing experience. Have you thought about staying and teaching English? What is Laurie's last name? I'd like to look up her parents. A small world, indeed. I'm reading a book entitled, "Linked" which is exactly about people traveling to far distant places only to bump into their next door neighbor. Crazy. I expect some good Tai cookin' upon your return by the way. Love~yomama
9th September 2010

love you boo
Topic of conversation around the Hughes/Darling households: "Has Jenn updated her blog? Who has an email from Jenn? What blog entry are you on?" I was the lucky one to stumble across this entry first and shout at the top of my lungs from the playroom, "Jenn's got a new blog entry!" Everyone came running. Well no, that is a lie. Andrea worked her first graveyard and is sleeping, Mom's hearing is getting worse and or is it selective?, and Robert, where is Robert? Robert? However, they will all be VERY happy to see you are alive and well. Love you girl! Hope to hear from you soon. Ciao, V

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb