Christmas in Thailand :)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand
December 25th 2012
Published: January 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I’m not gunna lie, I wasn’t exactly looking forward to Christmas this year. Christmas is all about family and I was going to be spending mine thousands of miles away from all of my family, and missing my nieces first Christmas. I spent ages thinking about all the things I would miss out on, opening all the presents, the pub with all my best friends, Christmas dinner, seeing all my family. I love Christmas and love our family traditions and routines on Christmas day but this year I wouldn’t be there.

So I spent my Christmas in Thailand. Some people might love the idea and to be honest it wasn’t all that bad, I had a really nice day, it was very different indeed but I enjoyed it, it just wasn’t the same at Christmas at home and I don’t think I will be missing out on Christmas day with my family again in a hurry.

Luckily we managed to bag the day off work considering Thailand don’t celebrate Christmas (it was exam week and we didn’t have to go in on the Tuesday – although we were in Christmas eve and boxing day!!). On Christmas eve we went for dinner, had a few drinks and watched love actually in an attempt to finally get into the Christmas spirit.

Waking up alone on Christmas morning was not fun but I had gab and Becky and we opened presents that we had brought for each other which was nice. We then went to an ice-cream parlour for our breakfast and KFC for lunch before heading to the pool.

We spent the day doing all the things we would never get to do in England at Christmas.. we sunbathed, listened to Christmas songs around the pool and drank chang. Then on the evening we went home and skyped the family which was nice but emotional and then headed out for dinner.

A very alternative Christmas dinner – we went to the pizza place! Had a big pizza, chips, garlic bread, chicken sticks, onion rings and lots more. We were stuffed but I guess that’s what Christmas is all about. On the night we watched a film before getting an early night, after all we were up early for work the next morning…


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb