MYRMIDON


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand
November 24th 2011
Published: November 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

missing the green green grass of home missing the green green grass of home missing the green green grass of home

my tom jones album, I mean
During the week a man named Myrmidon or otherwise known as Kosta introduced himself to us, I have not mentioned him through my blog as I wanted to dedicate this part to him. He has served for his country in three combats and been shot twice, retired now but still a protector of his fellow man and also a huge animal lover hence his title Myrmidon. He visits here for half the year and spends the other half in Greece, he is the kind of man that if you saw down a dark alley you would try to avoid but the truth of it is he is the kind of person you would want to be walking down the alley with just in case anything should happen.

Friday morning Hummmm baaaa raaa, Hummmm baaaa raaa, Hummmm baaaa raaa, Hummmm baaaa raaa, Hummmm baaaa raaa, Hummmm baaaa raaa, Hummmm baaaa raaa, Hummmm baaaa raaa, Hummmm baaaa raaa blasted over a microphone “Michael are you up” I wasn’t, “MICHAEL ARE YOU UP” from a tired expression “what is it” “can you hear that” Hummmm baaaa raaa “it’s been doing that for ages I can’t sleep” I can see D’s reasoning now for
BIG fish BIG fish BIG fish

trys to eat D
waking me up, there is no point in one of us getting a good sleep, when you’re in a relationship everything is 50/50 so in other words if I don’t sleep neither do you.

Later that night Kosta asks if I play pool, “are you kidding of course” words I would later regret, I have three excuses for what happened it’s up to you the reader to pick one of them.

1. I didn’t have my own cue

2. The table was wonky

3. Kosta had a midget under the table holding a magnet and controlling the balls to do as he wished.



D wanted a wee night in herself so she was happy for me to go out, Kosta knew a place about five minute walk from the Lanna lodge that had free pool when you buy a drink, now Kosta does not drink so he had a sprite, so he didn’t have the upper hand I also ordered a soft drink “a cola for me please” (manners cost nothing) the pub was owned by the director of Rambo 4, Kosta introduced me and we had a talk about the movie.
Game On Game On Game On

ready to bowl

“Game on” the table was ready and BOOM 3-0 “god dam it” not even one of the games were close this is when excuse number one came in, “Game on” 2-2 with myself winning the last game this was a tight game, excuse number two came in about this point but I must admit even with the wonky table there was some onlookers and you could tell with the expression in their faces that they were thinking, you should be pro. Kosta “final game” Boom 3-2 to Kosta and you guessed it excuse number three but before I had the chance to have a look the midget was gone.

We went a walk as Kosta was meeting another friend for a drink to a bar on the same strip this was owned by a lovely family but before that he took me to a vender on the street who was selling banana rotee’s (www.youtube.com/watch?v=gFYFIKXttGI) this is a must if you are travelling. We grabbed another drink, sat for a while and then I went to the 7/11 bought some water for D and set off back to the lodge, Kosta walked away as he goes a long walk ever
Banana rotee Banana rotee Banana rotee

this makes my mouth water
night.

Saturday came about and we done the usual got washed and ready, breakfast, D wanted to get some sun about her as she felt she was not as brown as she could be while I caught up with my book, we meet up with Kosta down stairs and asked what we were doing for dinner he had told us about a Italian place which was nice and cheap D really liked the food there so she was happy to go again. After we had our meal and walked back to the lodge Kosta asked if we would like to go bowling “mm yeah if you want, we walking” as he got his bike out “no too far” I was thinking to myself there is no

way that the three of us are getting onto that bike as Kosta is way bigger than Sookie. “you can use her bike” (never really went on a bike before) ran through my head, D said “it’s ok Michael if you’re scared” I wasn’t scared, I was terrified first time on a bike with D behind me in the middle of anything goes on the road Chiang Mia. “It’s cool babe”, I
outside the lodge outside the lodge outside the lodge

going to jump the wall and steal monks washing
felt like leader of the pack brumm brummm (for you oldies out there). I think if you had to see us from the pavement you would have been subject to a gorgeous woman gripping onto a white knuckled upper teeth exposed twitchy eyed sweaty man, “are you ok baby?” “hmmm mm” of course I had to act cool in front of my good lady.

Kosta stopped, thank fuck, “how was that?” By this time I had controlled my facial features and the beads of sweat had been taken off my forehead by the wind “Aye, sound” I walked up the stairs if I had been ridding for years, half way up my hobbit foot decided to miss a step and I fell like a game of jenga, “You ok?” D asks, up like a shot “Yip” how embarrassing. We went in and told the man our names so he could put them up on the board, we got our shoes and balls went over, first up Yronne this is what was up on the board not a misspelling from myself, we went about our game Strike by myself followed by another one, I was like kingpin except I have
Hiding Hiding Hiding

from the monks
two hands. D was getting less and less impressed but better as the games went on. Results

1st Michael 2nd Kosta 3rd Yronne

1st Kosta 2nd Michael 3rd Yronne

The third and final game I had already been beaten at pool I had to win this plus all that practice from the Wii while staying in saving for this trip came in handy.

Dum dum dummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

1st Michael 2nd Kosta 3rd Yronne

I won, I won, I won, I won was bouncing about my head in reality it was a simple Yassssssssss in Kostas face ha ha ha, completive me, who told you that.

As we got back into our own shoes and went down the stairs I had totally forgot how we had got here and then I see it, to be honest it was not as bad as the first time and Kosta had a look out to make sure I was behind him so we made it back alive, we pulled up to the bar that we were at the night before, there was the full family waiting for people to occupy the tables, its bad at the moment there
dinner dinner dinner

peace man
is not much tourist visiting here at the moment for some reason and the ones that are don’t seem to be coming out to the main pubs as they are getting forced to shut at 12.00am as the monks can’t get to sleep at night because of the noise (poor monks) we were joking the night previous with the boy that works in the pub that his tattoo was misspelled, he had got UNBELIVEABLE written just above his crouch, we had told D to do the same “nice tattoo, wait, it’s spelled wrong” the boy’s face went worried then laughed. Kosta being a gentleman bought everyone a drink and D loving the vino wanted some wine, sorry we are out, Kosta told the boy to go buy a bottle, I stuck to the coke, Hong Kong was still haunting me. D was drunk, I was tired so we jumped back on the bike and headed home.

We had set the alarm so we had plenty of time to pack our bus was not till 5.30pm but checkout time was 12 bells, we got the room organized and I wasn’t shocked to see D’s three piles of clothes to my
Yronne Yronne Yronne

as she was called for the rest of the night
one (see photo) they said that we could keep our bags down in a room at reception so we didn’t need to carry them. We sat and again caught up on some reading time flew by Kosta came down and asked what we were doing later on for dinner “prob’s just going out, Why?” he offered to take us out his treat. We had a great dinner all set to go on our journey we came back to the hotel and next thing a red truck with no back door pulled up, bags flung on top and we were waving goodbye to Kosta and Lanna lodge.


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

looking good looking good
looking good

makes bowling look sexy
D's funny face D's funny face
D's funny face

love the faces she pulls
scores scores
scores

hmm mmm proof
air con air con
air con

something wrong with this fan
chicken burger chicken burger
chicken burger

loving it
Game on Game on
Game on

here we go again
Score board Score board
Score board

read it and weep
final scores final scores
final scores

I won, I won, I won
Kosta buys D a rose Kosta buys D a rose
Kosta buys D a rose

with 4 ticks inside
unbelievableunbelievable
unbelievable

Kosta turns at last moment for a kiss
suits you sirsuits you sir
suits you sir

flower power


27th November 2011

Nice article
Hello, thank you for the nice post. I like your blog very much. Maybe I would like to pass by you, D and Kosta someday on the street. http://bangkokhouse.com/
2nd December 2011

Thank you
I am glad you like the blog, sorry I have not been updating just now as teching a girl english at the moment, that's to follow. If you see us you introduce yourself, have a nice day. Michael

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb