2012 Summer Tour


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Udon Thani
June 21st 2012
Published: June 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wll gang this is a second attempt at getting the blog started for the 2012 summer tour. lost the first attempts. I am using the new I Pad 3 and let's say I am not very good at it yet.

The trip started from Ottawa this time where I was for Crystal's niece's wedding. CAught a bus at the very run down Grey Hound station on Catherine Street. Five hours later I was dropped off at the equally run down Toronto Station! But a short two minute walk later I was at a bus stop for the airport bus. It is now about 5 pm and lots of traffic. The guys who drive those airport buses deserve a lot of praise, trying to get to multiple hotels on any kind of schedule, with a big bus in rush hour is a chAllenge. Our guy did iT all with a smile and a joke. I told him at the end how impressed I was and that got me a great smile in return, my daily challenge he says.

Pearson airport was its usual. Hub of activity but no problems. I was flying Etihah Air the official airline of the Arab Emirates. Let me tell you I got a taste of being a minority. We were flying Toronto to Abu Dabi non stop 12.5 hours. A great flight service was great. I had the good fortune of sittin long side this mom and 7 year old son of Pakistani descent who were returning home to Karachi to visit family. They both provided some with lots of information on Pakistan, the culture and what. It is like being an immigrant to Canada. Her husband was at home working 2 jobs to get them by, he was an MD in Pakistan. Now does hospital records for Scarborough Generaland does some work ind the mental health field.

The transfer in Abu Dabi was easy, Nice airport. The final six and a half hours to Bangkok were long but again service was good, sat long side of two British fellows, mid twenties who were going trekking in Northern Thailand.

I think they know me at Bangkok airport now ha ha, got through quickly with a stamp on the visa good for one year, multiple entries. Spent the next five hours wandering around the airportbefore my nextflight north eats to a city called Udon Thani...next report

Advertisement



Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb