Second entry on the summer 2012 Tour


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand
June 22nd 2012
Published: June 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I landed in Udon Thani a city of 250,000. This is not a tourist site. There are a small number of ex pats here and my first night I met a guy from Ireland, an Australian and a Brit. They all live here but were having a drink in thotel bar. They had mixed reviews of living here but they all have families so they are for the long term. Last nite I met a bar owner who is young and Italian. He loves it here. This town used to be home to an American base during the Vietnam war so as you fly into what was the American airport, now Udon Thani international you see all the American Houses. Apparently there are a lot of mixed nationalities here because of that but it is not evident to me. The town first structure as being very poor but as I roamed around a bit more there are some nice areas and great parks. Sumba is a big deal in our house right now, in one park there was large stage with huge speakers and a large concrete area. They had two scumbag instructors on stage and groups of people were following them all around the park, it was quite funny.

I then traveled to a village called Non Bua Lamphu about an hour away and I stayed there night shots. Believe me I did not see another white person in those two days. I was an oddity, one little girl swimming in the hotel pool with her dad had him ask me if she could practice her English with. Me. So I had a fairly one sided Englishconversation with a grade thre young lady. Another mom was wi her children at the local market and when one of them saw me he went hiding behind mom, she managed to get across that he was scared of farangs. One of the nights I ventured down the street to a local live music venue and when I sat down the lead singer in passable English dedicated the next song to their farang visitor! An experience of being totally alone yet welcomed.

So am planning my next escape tomorrow to a place called Ubon ratchimai will fill you in soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb