Surin Elephant festival - 2


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Surin
November 18th 2007
Published: December 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sunday November, 18th 2007

Sunday at 5:30 A.M. is the day the elephant semi-marathon. So, Martin (the guy I met at Nang Rong) and I were quite excited to see a herd elephants running at full speed. So, I try to wake up early to be on time for this terrific event. When the alarm-clock rang, I fel back to sleep. I woke up at 5:15 and I walk and run for one hour to reach the outskirt of the city where the competition was taking place. There were no cyclo or moto-taxi that early Sunday morning. I was angry that I was late. Then, I finally arrived and that's what I saw.

I looked at the leaflet : Elephant town semi-marathon. It means Surin semi marathon. I had to laugh my head off; such a silly mistake. Likewise, miss elephant town contest is not the selection of the most beautiful female elephant nor the choice of the fattest girl in town. It is a normal beauty contest taking place in Surin.

After a while, I pick up Martin in the crowd. He had arrived on time and was then the only foreigner. So, he was considered as a guest of honour by the organizers. Normal, after all, not so many tourists are that much interested in Surin sporting elite as to wake at 4 A.M. On Sunday.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb