Korat - Another Sunday in the Village


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Nakhon Ratchasima
December 24th 2009
Published: December 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Pattaya SunsetPattaya SunsetPattaya Sunset

Taken from Central Mall

Pattaya to Korat - back to the real Thailand



There is always entertainment of some form available and fortunately for me there was a huge Isaan Concert near Pattaya Beach Road which I attended on Friday 18th December. There was a big crowd in attendance, all sorts of food available and two stages providing great Isaan style music which should get anyone up and dancing although most of the audience were fairly reserved tonight.

I was going to have an early night but wanted to find out where the local Ta Wang Daeng Club was located in Pattaya. This is a chain of Thai Isaan/folk music clubs located in the major cities which I have attended many times in Korat. Well I found the place on Pattaya Third Road near the fishing lake/restaurant and the staff were so welcoming and the music so good that I stayed till 3 am.

On Sunday 20th it was time to visit the Thai family that I see on all of my trips to Thailand and the welcome I received when I drove into the village was really heart warming. There is no doubt that everyone was happy to see me and I love seeing all the kids and the extended family. We sat around for a while before heading off on our mandatory trip to the local Sunday market and we then enjoyed our evening meal together.

I had hired a car for four days and the next day was heading into the centre of Isaan country, North-East Thailand to visit Khon Kaen, Kalasin, Roi Et and Mahasarakham.

Some of the last few photos starting with the Buddha Shop were taken on my return to Korat.

Click on the pics if you want a larger view of the 24 photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Xmas giftsXmas gifts
Xmas gifts

Our lunch stop on the way to Korat
Underneath a village houseUnderneath a village house
Underneath a village house

All sorts of animals run around or sleep here
Sunday MarketSunday Market
Sunday Market

A boot load of our purchases
Korat Buddha ShopKorat Buddha Shop
Korat Buddha Shop

About 20 minutes outside of Korat on the highway to Khon Kaen - well worth a visit to the rooftop and surrounding grounds
Korat - The MallKorat - The Mall
Korat - The Mall

Happy New Year !!!
Korat - The MallKorat - The Mall
Korat - The Mall

Some Thais use Xmas as part of their New Year celebrations
My medicineMy medicine
My medicine

Your test for the holiday season - see if you can work out what my ailments are - I am getting better, slowly


30th December 2009

Hows things
Hi Leon, Merry Christmas and nearly Happy New Year glad to hear you are enjoying yourself as always. I hope you are feeling better soon and maybe next time you had better get a more reliable rent a car. Everything here ok Scott is having a wonderful time in Europe very cold there very hot here. Take care Love Anthea xx

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb