2 day 1 night Tour away from Bangkok!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand
November 6th 2012
Published: November 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well my trip began.

I was excited and so woke up early and was ready downstairs waiting for my pickup from the guesthouse in bangkok by 7am, I was collected as described and off we went. In the van were an asian couple who turned out to be from Sydeny Australia, a couple from Belgium and three girls from Austria.

We went on our way and the first stop was the floating market Dumneon Saduak which took about an hour to get to. We were allowed an hour here. There was a walking section of the Market and you had to pay an extra 150 Baht (£2.50ish) to get in the boat and float around the Market. I did so and I ended up being in the same boat as the three girls from Austria. They had not yet spoken to me, we had just smiled at eachother. The boat was single file with four seats and so we were the only ones in the boat. The lady rowing the boat was an older Thai lady who looked very traditional with a floral hat on and did not speak a word of English; except for the word "tip" which I later came to discover.

We went around the river for 30 mins seeing the different stalls which mainly consisted of pretty, but rubbish items; none of which I would use, but the experience was all I went for. There were people selling food and other items from thier boats and others who had wooden stalls set up that you went passed and viewed as they handed out stuff to sell to you.

After the hour was up, I had bought myself a Maxi Dress for 290 Baht (under £5) and we headed back to the mini bus. I had still not really spoken to anyone by this point, just smiled and I spoke to the asian couple as they had walked past asking if they had been on the boats in the floating part of the market.

The next stop was the River Kwai & Bridge and on the way we saw the Kanchanaburi Allied War Cemetery where there lay about 7000 prisoners who died while working on the railway. The museum consisted of memories of this time and facts about this famous bridge that was bombed during WW2.

After the River Kwai we hopped back into the bus and headed for lunch, this was included in our set tour price and we went to a place where we were fed omelette, rice, sweet and sour chicken and some vegetables. Simple but nice.

After our lunch we went to the Tiger Temple which was a further 1 hour drive and so most of us snoozed in the minibus on the way there. When we arrived we had to change as earlier in the day we had been informed that we were not allowed our shoulders out or our legs as this was a temple and the Monks lived here and so we had to respect them. I had luckily bought the maxi dress with me and my cardigan (not sure why as it is way too hot here). I changed into this and we headed into the Temple. The walk there was hot and I was pouring with sweat especially as I was wearing so much.

We arrived with the tigers and there were about 10 in total. We had to be escourted in by 2 young Thai girls who worked/helped there. They held your hand as you walked around having pictures with the tigers. They took the pictures for free on your own camera which was a bonus. The Tigers were so big and beautiful, I got to touch them as I was having my picture taken and they just laid there.

They were chained up but most of them were sleeping. I thought this seemed strange as tigers are aggresive animals but when I read the information board they stated that between the hours of 1.15-3.30pm the tigers sleep and they had all been bought up since they were babies by the Monks and so they were used to humans being around them all day. Who knows if this was true or not but the tigers were not in distress.

I then moved on to see the baby cub who was so adourable, she was roaring and very playful, you could have your picture taken with her but she was getting fidgety so the leaders took her for a walk. I took lots of my own pics of her though.

I slowly made my way back to the coach as I was very hot and getting tired by this point. Our next stop was a small waterfall that we could just go and chill out at. By this point I was very tired and hungry so looking forward to heading back to our overnight stay on the water hotel.

The water hotel was very nice and peaceful, lots of mosquito's and i was very tasty to them. I got to my room and fell asleep for a couple of hours. I woke up hearing the others sounding like they were having a party so I had a shower and headed out but when I got the bar area there were only two left who were the couple from Belgium. I sat speaking to them and had a beer for an hour or so it was nice and relaxing. The others had apparently got too drunk and gone to bed so i had missed the party - typical of me to be too late!

I went to bed at about 11pm and got a nice night sleep before getting up at 6am for breakfast at 7am. We sat all together and had scrambled egg on toast or should I say warm bread as the toaster was rediculously slow and no body wanted to wait 10 minutes for thier toast to cook so we all ate warm bread and laughed about it.

We then got on the coach and headed to the Erawn Waterfall which had 7 waterfalls and the top one which was obviously the best was 1,525km walk; this was not just a walk uphill it was climing too and not good for somebody wearing flip flops - which yes of course I was wearing!

I began to climb and at first it didnt seem to bad but I began to feel the heat (even though it was only 9am) and before I knew it I was pouring with sweat again. I began to feel like an ant in a football field trying to find my way from one goal to another; and although most of the walk was shaded it was so hot and I began to feel tired. I had to let the others walk on ahead as I just could not catch up. I felt so embarressed to be this unfit. Damn that dominos pizza!!!

I stopped for a break and I then continued my trek to the top, I came across the Austrian girls who were at waterfall 4 having a swim and they said that they were not going any higher; except for one of them who said she would walk with me to the top. We then began again. The further we climbed the harder it was; there was one point where we didnt know how to get up onto a high ledge and we had to walk across a large tree that had fallen over to get up there. After this point I got fed up of my flip flops and decided to brave it bare foot.

After a total of 1 hour 20 minutes trekking up this mountain we got to the top, and yes it was definately worth it. I was so happy that I had made it, I genuinally had thought I was going to give up. There were 4 of the others from our coach up there and we stayed up there for about an hour relaxing after the long climb. You will see from the pics how amazing it was. Beautiful waterfalls, so calm relaxing and quite simply amazing! After the hour was up I decided I had better head down and make my way back to the coach, on the way I decided that I would take a look at the other waterfalls as I had not got a chance to look much on the way up. I began to head back down and found this as hot and difficult as the way up, I slipped and cut my foot on one of the rocks which was not too good but I am still in the mind that it was all worth it for the amazing views and the single hour that I had up there. I only wish we had more than 3 hours stay at the waterfall.

We were due to be back at the coach for 12.30pm to head for lunch but I was late - luckily not the only one, as the other couples were behind me so we all got back around the same time; approximately 1/2 hour late. After lunch we began the long 3 hour journey home.

I was dropped off at bangkok train station and had to get the train up to Ayutthaya to stay for the night. The coach driver got my ticket and guided me to the platform where my train was supposed to turn up 5 minutes later. I thought great timing but I was wrong; the train was 40 minutes late and I stood at the platform so tired waiting for this train. I finally got on it and sat down to relax for the 2 hour journey, I was then approached by a thai lady telling me that I was in her space and that I should move so I did and I sat and relaxed for the next hour. There were people on the train walking up and down selling things like food etc trying to earn money; it was still a suprise to me how they lived out here.

Another family got on at another stop and I was sitting in thier seat once again - they could not speak a word of english and I could not understand a word they were saying so I just gave a confused face and they let me sit there. They were all talking in Thai and laughing so I just joined in hoping they werent laughing directly at me! I asked the instructor to let me know when to get off and he did which was good as I could have been on that train to anywhere!!

I got off the train in Ayutthaya and the distance from the train to the floor was about as high as my legs; it wasnt like an english platform you just had to jump off the train and run over the tracks to the other side.

I looked down and thought this is not going to end great; and before I knew it I was on my back with my legs in the air like an upside town turtle. The entire platform (must have been 70 people there) began laughing at me and I looked up to see people looking out of the train window at me laughing, I was so embarressed I could have died. It took 3 men to help me up with my back pack and I had to walk towards the 70 odd people who had also been laughing at me. If I wasn't me I would have laughed too. (Palmer I knew you would find this hilarious!!)

I got to the platform and rang the hostel that I was staying at who then came to pick me up. I arrived at the hostel not knowing what to expect and it was so lovely, you had to take your shoes off before entering, it was so quiet and clean, I was happy. I unpacked everything and began sorting my bag as I thought it needed re-arranging after my accident (lol).

As I began sorting I realised that there was a huge bug in the corner of the room and I could not do anything to get it so I thought I would head downstairs and ask the thai lady who picked me up. I got back upstairs and I heard lots of shouting and laughing going on outside so I looked out of the front communal balcony to see some people sitting downstairs out the front. I could hear that some were english so I decided I would ask them to help me...what a way to make friends!!

I began walking down the stairs and there were two canadian guys who asked me for a lighter and I said yes I would if they helped me with the bug. They stuck to their end of the deal (thank god) and so I gave them my lighter. They asked me to join them and so I decided I would. I got down there to find that there were 3 canadians, 2 english and 2 Germans who had all met that day and ended up hanging out together. They were all so nice and sorted me out with a drink and we starting chatting. It turned out to be a great night, the Thai lady who we nick named "ma" was so funny, she could not speak much english but she joined in the fun and was totally wasted. Everybody loved her. I headed to bed around 3am after sitting up talking to everyone including a french couple that joined us later.

I woke up this morning a little fuzzy headed but I had a good 7 hour sleep and a comfortable night so I was happy. I had a shower and checked out of my room. I wanted to find a place with food and wifi so I could catch up with everyone in the UK but the resturant's wifi did not work so i ended up buying an expensive meal (expensive in thailand - 290 baht which is about a fiver.) It was delicious food and I enjoyed it knowing I would not be having much for the next 24 hours.

I headed back to the hostel hoping to get the internet access there and I sat on the computer for about 10 minutes when the french couple from the night before joined me. We sat chatting for a couple of hours and they left around 5 to get the train to Bangkok. I continued to sit outside with my computer writing this and out came another french couple who unfortunately were not very good at english but we tried to have a conversation all the same. They kindly let me use thier shower so I could freshen up before the train journey. I sat with them for a couple of hours and then I got a lift to the train station which is currently where I am. My train is due in 10 minutes but I can guarentee I will be at least 20 minutes late.

I will stay on the train over night and arrive in Chang Mai at 9am ish. I do not know what to expect for this train - all I know is that I need to ensure I am in the correct seat this time.....

I will then begin a 2 night 3 day trek in Chang Mai which I am sure will be a struggle but as with all of this trip so far there is always a good side which outbeams the bad.

Advertisement



7th November 2012

Wow
I just loved your writing Han, I can really picture everything so well and I'm so glad that you are having fun. I hope that your foot is healing! The picture you described of you on the track with your backpack is so funny too. Love you lots angel xxxxx Dad sends his love to although he's in St Leonards and I'm in Dublin! Yesterday evening I filled the car up with diesel by mistake - oh what a calamity! xxxxxx
10th November 2012

Your latest blog
Glad to hear you are having such a good time.The food sounds good but are you not feeling pasta withdrawal symtons? Mum went to see Gemma in Dublin this week and poor Violet was not happy. She followed me around so close that I was in danger of falling over her. The fireworks added to her insercurity and when Mum came back she did he her usual hysterical act of going berserk. Last Saturday when out for a walk she lunged at another dog taking me by surprise, she managed to pull me over and i scraped all the skin off my knuckles on both hands. They are slow healers and hurt quite a lot. Have a good time out there and take care. We love you very much. Dad xxxxxx

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb