23rd February until 1st of March


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand
March 1st 2010
Published: March 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hey dear friends!

Another nice week here in Thailand has gone by and school week starts again. The weather is getting more and more hot, the hot season starts soon. One day was 42 degrees!

Until Wednesday I was in bed because of the nasty mosquito bite and then in the afternoon we went to the big shopping mall with Anete, was better for me to be in an air conditioned building than outside since I was still pretty weak... But I was finally not sick anymore so we went for nice dinner 😊

Thursday was school and after dinner we went to the mall again to play bowling with the guys. I got the highest score, 148, which is probably also my personal record, yeah 😉

Friday is the longest school day every week, long lectures... But afterwards we spent the whole afternoon in the swimming pool with friends, check out the pictures, the view is great when the sun goes down! And with the nice music over there, we have a real resort feeling while being at the school swimming pool 😊 In the evening we went to a Japanese restaurant in the mall again (damn, 3rd day in a row :D ) and then went to see Avatar in 3D. Thought I was the last one in the world to see it, but not, others also haven't seen it. It totally exceeded my expectations! Great movie! When I saw the trailer in December I thought - that is sooo not my movie! But I was wrong, it's very good!

Early on Saturday morning we took a cab to the bus station and left for Kanchanaburi with Kelly, Marjolein and Anete. This was our first experience with public transport, because until then we always went with taxi, even if it was 250 km away :P Was actually ok, I have never slept that well in a bus - I was damn tired :D Our guest house was next to the famous bridge over River Kwai, which is a part of the Death Railway (The Death Railway was built in the beginning of 20th century and stretched for 415 km from Thanbyuzayat in Burma to Nong Pladuk in Bangpong District in Ratchaburi proving weince in Thailand. 304 km of the railway was located in Thailand and the remaining 111 km in Burma.
More than 16,000 prisoners died during the construction of the railway or about thirty-eight prisoners for every km of railway built).
In the evening me and Anete enjoyed a real Thai massage in outside our hotel next to the river, very relaxing 😊
When we wanted to get to the city center, our opinion about the price and the one of the taxi driver did not match, so we started walking. When I saw the tourist police car, I knew what to do 😉 We went to them and I asked where do we have to go and stuff, acting confused. And, of course, they offered to bring us to the place we wanted :D It was just straight along the same street :D Good to be a girl!

Sunday morning we left to the Erawan national park with famous 7 step waterfalls. Was very beautiful and water was very refreshing! Interesting fact is that there are many fishes in the water and when you get in there they all start biting you! The small ones are just tinkling, but I was really scared from the big ones! I was screaming all the time, poor tourists :D
After lunch we went riding elephants and floating on a river (it was called rafting :D). Elephants are so huge and sweeeeeeeet at the same time! Lovely!
Late in the evening we started our trip back home, this time in a 1st class bus. There was even a lady walking around all the time, bringing you water, just like in a plane 😊

This morning (Monday) I had school again, everything starts from beginning. Next week we have a holiday, still haven't decided where I want to go. Most possible destinations at this moment are: 1) Singapore, 2) Laos, 3) Vietnam or 4) north of Thailand, the second biggest city Chiang Mai. Will let you know where I decide to go!

Many kisses,
Ilze


Additional photos below
Photos: 87, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



1st March 2010

Izklausas superigi un bildites ljoti forshas :* Taads prieks par Tevi! :) Buchas!
1st March 2010

man prieks, ka Tev prieks :)
1st March 2010

Greetings from Bakel
Hello Ilze, We think you are having a lot of fun in Thailand. We think you are enjoing your trip very much and that is good! We are watching your blog every time you have new story. Have a nice time, greetings from Bakel of all the family Martens
2nd March 2010

Looks great overthere!!!
Hi girl, really nice to read all your stories! Thailand looks really great, and I can see that you have a lot of fun overthere! Africa is great as well, i'm really enjoying my time here! Enjoy the rest of your time there and I will keep reading your experiences! Lots of love, Jill
2nd March 2010

about avatar
cmon, avatar was epic fail. 3 h of this movie was to much. Maybe i was to tired, maybe extremly comfortable chairs in Siguldas cinema but every 10 min i closed my eyes to relax,to enjoy suhi and awsome seats, beacause i was totaly bored of this crap. Now i definately know that i am not this kind of movie person :)

Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb