Bangkok is loud, big and a lot of fun.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand
November 24th 2008
Published: November 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The trip to Bangkok was a good one. The plane ride was about 7 hours long or so. Uneventful, except they showed Swing Vote on the plane. I stopped watching after about 10 minutes of Kevin Costner. 😊

We got in late at night and got a taxi to Khoasan Road. Where all of the backpacking tourist like Lily and I stay. It was fairly cheap, but we had to get a double room the first night because it was so crowded. The road was packed at 1 am. It's like the happening place. It was pretty cool.

The next day we got up and started to explore. We took a Tuk Tuk ride to the Travel Authority of Thailand and booked tickets to Koh Tao which is where I am now. We got them for a few days later so we could explore Bangkok. Tuk Tuk rides are super fun. It is basically a 3-wheeled motor bike with a big place to sit in. The driving here is crazy, but fun. The tuk tuk drivers will drive in the opposite direction lanes whenever they want. I didn't see a single accident though.

There are a lot of things to do in Bangkok. There are Buddhist temples, shrines to Kings, and all sorts of other neat things. One of the royal family died a few days before we got there, so there was a brand new temple set up in her honor that we checked out.

We checked out the floating market and that was pretty cool. Ate some pineapple that I bought from another boat which was fresh and delicious.

I got drunk on a single beer somehow. It was crazy! It is only 6.6% alcohol and 24 oz, but I haven't drank anything since I had left, so my tolerance must have been down. Lily thought it was funny.

We left Bangkok right before the protests got bad. We heard they were getting worse, so we decided to get out of there. They did stop me from going to the zoo though. Grrr...

The train ride was pretty fun. I have never been on an overnight train before, but the beds were pretty comfy and the ride was decently smooth. I was reminded of Darjeeling constantly.

The boat ride was not fun. It was crazy wavy and everyone on the boat got sick. I stayed in the bathroom for over an hour enjoying the fine porcelin that Thailand has.

I will update more about Koh Tao when I get a chance, but for now, enjoy the pictures that I will try to get up here.

Advertisement



28th November 2008

Pictures
Check out Lily's blog for pictures. It is easier to load them there.
29th November 2008

Are Tuk Tuks used in that chase seen in that Ong Bak movie? That movie is awesome.
30th November 2008

Tuk Tuks
Yeah totally. I explained the whole scene to Lily as we were driving around on one. It was pretty awesome. I felt like I was a star. :)

Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb