Bangkok part 2


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand
January 11th 2018
Published: January 11th 2018
Edit Blog Post

As expected, the following night was great as well. We ended up meeting a lot of people and we went out for dinner with a group of 11. The spicyness of the curry I had at dinner made me cry a bit, but the taste was good nonetheless. Afterwards we played a couple games and went to Khao San Road, where a bucket of a mixed drink cost us less than €3. It was all fun until Emma stepped into a broken beer bottle and I ended up playing doctor at the hostel. Thankfully the wound wasn't too big and no doctor visits where necessary, so we could still go sightseeing the next day!
We went to see Wat Pho, a beautiful temple complex that included the sleeping Buddha. Despite the hype around that Buddha, that was my least favourite part of the complex. The place was full of tourists, whereas the rest of the complex was relatively empty and peaceful. We got a Thai massage there too. I recommend getting one, but prepare: it does hurt a little. They press every muscle with all of their strength and bend your body in ways you never knew you could. Regardless, I felt great afterwards.
This time we went out for dinner with even more people, 14! If you ever consider going to Thailand, don't waste your time eating western food. Trust me, I'm not the easiest person when it comes to food but I haven't had any Thai meal that I didn't enjoy!
Although I feel a little sad about leaving Bangkok, my excitement about going to Melbourne totally makes up for that. Australia here we come!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Wat PhooWat Phoo
Wat Phoo

Wat Phoo is huge, you can get lost in there (and massages too!)
Stepping on the threshold is not allowedStepping on the threshold is not allowed
Stepping on the threshold is not allowed

It's bad luck. They make the threshold high because that makes you look down when you enter a temple, which is a sign of respect.
Wat PhooWat Phoo
Wat Phoo

So. Many. Buddha's.
Tiny alley on our way to the hostelTiny alley on our way to the hostel
Tiny alley on our way to the hostel

We liked taking detours to find new cute places


14th January 2018

Het doet me denken aan onze eerste verre reis naar Bangkok in 1981. Al die kleuren en geuren. En vooral ook de prachtige tempels. In Melbourne ben je zo weer in min of meer westerse sferen.
Leuk om al je ervaringen zo te volgen.
17th January 2018

Food!
Great that you tried the spicy Thai food, Anne! Together with Indian food the best there is I think!

Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb