Heading Into Week 5


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Lopburi
March 1st 2009
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

CricketsCricketsCrickets

Large fried crickets....tastier then the small size
Good Morning All,
This week I thought I'd talk a little more about some of the foods I've been exposed to. Notice I didn't use the word "eaten". You all know me to be somewhat adventuresome but there are some limits when it comes to my palate. Oh, before I go any further, let me apologize for any typo's, misspellings, bad grammar etc. No spell or grammar checks on this blog....I should take issue with that.

In Thailand a meal is not a meal unless it includes rice. That means a bowl of rice for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For us Westerners this is cause for concern.......constipation!!!! I know this is not the proper forum for such a topic but it is of upmost importance for those staying here any length of time. I've tried to offset the problem by sampling some recommended Thai foods, to no avail. Personally, I don't believe the Thai's have any bowel movements! They must also have very high cholesterol because everything (almost) is fried in oil. I had hard boilded, fried eggs for breakfast yesterday. Yep, the eggs were hard boiled, peeled and then fried whole until a golden brown all the way around.
ShrimpShrimpShrimp

Still alive
Actually, not bad. Also I believe the Thai's must have holes in their stomachs because the food, except that made for 'farangs' (foreigners) is so spicy hot, that I keep yelling "fia mia, fia mia", FIRE,FIRE! Now before eating I ask "pet mia" Is this hot? and the response is always "nit noi". I know that means "no for us, yes for you". I'm including some pictures of food I took in the market. These are everyday foods and yes, I have tried most. Interestingly, the Thais' don't eat salads but always include some veggies in with the dishes that go along with the rice. Definitely not enough greens for this body. Enjoy the pics and until next week eat healthy....sure would love a peanut butter and jelly sandwich!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

MooMoo
Moo

This guy must weigh 200lb and he crosses the road every day. Have no idea where he comes from or where he goes
PIZZAPIZZA
PIZZA

All right! Sorry not like at home
GrubbsGrubbs
Grubbs

mmmmmmm yummy
LunchLunch
Lunch

Look closely for the little crabs. Everything ground together and eaten
FixingsFixings
Fixings

All this in that other bowl


Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb