Goodbye Thailand!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Samet
June 27th 2007
Published: June 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Good Bye Thailand.

We spent the last few days (and nights) in Koh Samet soaking up what would be the last days of beach life. Kept the days busy as usually with the books, sun, swim, food, and a couple of beers. I even was able to reteach myself Cribbage, and Jaika and I had a few go’s at it.

I did have one problem. One night after a few too many drinks, we called it an evening, and made our way back to the room. The next morning I realize that I am missing my camera Tripod; this is a Gorilla Pod, possible the coolest thing for $20 one can get. It has 3 octopus like that can be attached to anything. As a solo traveler its one of my most used tools - I call it the best $20 toy every, whenever people stop to ask what it is. I knew that there was no way to find one in Bangkok with the limited time we had. I need to act fast, so I contacted the Guesthouse in Phnom Phen (that Mr. Hammer shared with me). The British owner was very good with email, and I explained the situation, and am having it sent to him. The Internet + Fed EX is a great thing. I just got the tracking number and delivery date. In four days it will be here, so FED EX claims.

I was able to get a flight booked out from Bangkok to Phnom Phen the same day Jaika was leaving, which was nice, since they have limited flights there at the moment. The unfortunately part was that my fight, the only one available was departing at 7 AM, meaning I had to be at the airport at 5AM. Jaika had the luxury of a 3:35 flight, so she, I assumed took advantage of the morning time sleep in time, sans Mr. Quirt. I on the other hand, was up bright and way too early - 4:20 AM came quickly. Jaika had an idea that maybe it would be best to book something near the airport, since we’d be arriving from the island in the later part of the day, and then having to leave the next morning, avoiding the traffic of Bangkok (which rivals LA, minus the road rage). It turned out to be a good idea, at least for me with my early morning wake up call. The place it self sucked. Generic, and overpriced, but 5 minutes to the airport, it allowed for a bit more shut eye. I can’t really complain, my flight was only an hour; Jaika on the other hand has about 18 hours, and then has to go to work the next morning. We’ll see if that happens.

The two weeks we had together we’re great. She was able to see a bit of what Thailand, going from a HUGE city, to northern smaller town, to some parks, and eventually some days to kick back on the beach. I mean what’s not to like. She was even able to deal with my moments of….my ”lacking in patience,” we’ll call it (what a trooper!). I know, me, lack patience? No way.


As for me…off to Cambodia (actually here now)…then north to Loas, and end up on a beach somewhere in the Gulf of Thailand. In theory.

-d.

Advertisement



29th June 2007

cribbage?
cribbage, you say? we'll have to take up a game upon your return...you are returning, right?

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb