beachin'


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Chang
October 26th 2004
Published: February 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I’ve just been to Ko Chang, which means Elephant Island. Ko Chang is Thailand’s second biggest island after Phuket, and two years ago Taksin, the evil Thai Prime Minister (he's friends with little Johnny Howard and Dubya - hardly illustrious company - and boasts that he's a 'Texan Cowboy' because he studied there... *spew*), said that he wanted Ko Chang to become the next Phuket. So lots of government ministers bought land there and resorts and beach huts started going up all over the place, lagoons were filled in, forest areas were cut down. It still looks like a tropical island paradise in many places, especially the beach I was staying at, but driving along the main road, and seeing all the razed plots of land where more resorts will be built, it appears that even the remaining oases will soon be gone. The place I stayed at had this fantastic, cheap restaurant, with wooden decking built over the seat, lots of hammocks, and cushions on the ground, lots of friendly people. We went swimming at night, as they have phosphorous in the sea - I don’t know exactly what it is, but it’s like fireflies in the sea. It’s AMAZING. As you push through the water, you see thousands of bright sparks of light before you - it’s as though you are pushing through stars. The other good thing about swimming at night is that the water is not so warm at night - at the hottest point of the day, the sea is almost unbearable, it’s so oozy and warm. I also swam in a waterfall, which was wonderful - the water was actually cool and refreshing, as it should be!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



13th July 2005

I like it.
I like your journal. I'm a local people of Trat province. I have seen Koh Chang all of my life, sometimes I didn't like about the development of Koh Chang.In my opinion, may be one day in the future almost the land on Koh Chang will belong to investors.I realized and feel so sad because the one of paradise of my province will be gone. I'm sorry about my English isn't well.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb