Crude and rude on Koh Chang


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Chang
January 13th 2008
Published: January 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On Christmas day my camera broke down. No more photos for me- bummer! Considering that the camera was new, bought in Sweden just before I left 4 months ago, I was disappointed to have it break so soon, for no fault of my own.

I spent Christmas and New Year in Sihanoukville, Cambodia. It's a beach town, with several different beaches and a chilled atmosphere. I enjoyed it immensely and made some dear friends along the way. That was the reason I decided to stay for both holidays, and besides that I couldn't be bothered moving in the days after Christmas. I stayed at a place called Nap House on Serendipity Beach. It was run by and English guy and a French guy with his family, which were all very friendly. I had two double beds to myself and a clean bathroom with flushing toilet (luxury!!) and a cold shower. The cost was $5, but my friend Ciara joined me so it became half of that, which was very cheap.

The Cambodian people are very friendly, but can sometimes be a handful. Serendipity Beach was crawling with vendors and little children trying to sell you fruit, jewellery, manicure, pedicure, massage and threading. Threading is like waxing, but instead they use thread to remove the hair. It's quite painful, I tried it (at last, after several kids nagging me.....I'm such a softie for these little buggers!). But after almost three weeks of contantly being harrassed (they swim with you in the sea, and won't leave you alone even when you're in the water), I decided to leave. Most of my friends left on the same day as me, so I decided that it was time for me to hit the road too.

New Year's eve was a blast. Three bars in Sihaoukville- Rasta Baby, Sessions and Zion's Den, had organised a party on a deserted island and brought their bars over for booze and music. Everyone was off their heads, having a good time ringing in the new year. I felt it was an appropriate ending to an incredible time in Cambodia. For all those who have doubts about this lovely, yet very poor country, all I can say is- go experience it for yourself and you will see how incredibly gifted, generous and fun loving these people are!!

Made my way to Koh Chang on 2nd January. It was a hell of a ride there, as most roads in Cambodia are, well, pretty shit. I guess that is one thing that could be said in a negative manner about the country, but then again it is weighed up by other pleasant factors. Besides, it adds to the roughness and backpacker feeling you get when you travel. Anyway, the border crossing went okay, and the moment I stepped onto Thai soil I realised the difference from my previous destinations. Thailand is a very modern and developped country. Is it done for us travellers?? Sometimes I wonder. However, the smooth roads and pavement and the steep prices of ood and accommodation (still cheaper than home though) gives me a slight bitter and resentful taste in my mouth. Are we corupting these countries for our own benefit? If so, where do I, the BACKPACKER, fit in?

Arrived at Lonely Beach late in the evening, exhausted from my travel, and hungry from my lack of food. I had already taken a dislike to this place and missed Sihanoukville passionately. "But", I thought to myself, "I have to give this place a chance!". And so I did, and for almost two weeks I have stayed in this place and tried to accept everything it is, and everything it's not. I love it here, but not as much as Sihanoukville. There's something tacky, something filthy, with Thailand. Maybe it's the old western men with the pretty young girls, or the ladyboys trying so hard to look ladylike but failing with their crude manners, or the fat germans with tiny speedos that should certainly be banned in public. I still love it, for everything it is, and for everything it's not!!

Leaving for Bangkok tomorrow and then have a few days shopping, relaxing etc before I head over to Melbourne on Thursday 17th January. Looking forward to that for sure, will keep you updated as soon as I arrive (and find a computer).

Stay safe, happy travels to you all!!! Thank you for being patient with my blogs, and thank you for reading them. I appreciate you all, and I'm sorry for being so bad at staying in touch.

Lots of love. x E

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb