Sunburn and mozzie bites!!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
December 15th 2007
Published: January 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Making my way from Ho Chi Minh to Siem Reap was painless. The border crossing went fine and so far the people have all been friendly. Frankly, I had heard mixed reviews of this country, some people say they love it, others absolutely loathe it. I can understand why, as the first site that hits me when crossing the border were that of homeless, orphaned kids walking barefoot around looking for empty plastic bottles to recycle. I knew I was in for a heart quenching, mind numbing experience in Cambodia, and I was right. But despite the poverty and torment this country has endured, the people are still friendly, and curious about foreigners.

So I started my first day going around the temples of Angkor. The first circle one does normally include Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom, Bayon, Baphuon and Ta Prohm. I wasn't sure how I would feel seeing all these temples, if I would be impressed or not by these large buldings that are half falling apart. I hired a moto driver for the day and he took me around the sites. The dark clouds in the sky made me not put any sun block on and at the end of the day I was burnt around my face and chest. Serves me right! I did enjoy the sites of Angkor, but the steady crowd of package holiday tourists and the steep, crumbling steps of the temples made it slightly less of a magical experience.

The second day was more enjoyable as I had covered up in sunblock and there wasn't as much of a crowd. People tend to do the first smaller circle of temples and leave out the larger and longer trip. The temples on the second day are also much smaller and less known, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

Today I am making my way to Phnom Penh, the Capital of Cambodia. I was bitten extensively yesterday, as the mosquitos managed to get into my net (which surely wasn't too difficult seeing as there are large holes in it). My legs are so swollen my feet have turned blue, not fun! I will smother them in tiger balm and hope for the best.

x


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

BayonBayon
Bayon

The gigantic faces at Bayon.
Ta ProhmTa Prohm
Ta Prohm

This is the site where a lot of movies have been filmed, or based upon, like Tomb Raider and Indiana Jones.
Ta ProhmTa Prohm
Ta Prohm

All the large trunks of the trees have integrated the temple structures.
Prea KhanPrea Khan
Prea Khan

The temple I liked the best on the second day.
Prea KhanPrea Khan
Prea Khan

The guardians of the gate pulling on a dragon.
Prea KhanPrea Khan
Prea Khan

Decorations over a gate.
Mozzie bitesMozzie bites
Mozzie bites

A few of them before they flared up and got swollen.


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb