Chanthaburi (8-10 Sep 14)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Chanthaburi
September 9th 2014
Published: September 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After almost two weeks in the capital, I hit the road again towards what could be the last area of Thailand that I haven't quite yet covered -- the Eastern Gulf. My main objective is to check out the much talked about island of Koh Chang, to do a quick visa run to neighbouring Cambodia, and also to check out Koh Kong on the Cambodian side which I'd missed during my first foray back in late 2012.

But first, a stop en route in Chanthaburi - a relatively quiet riverside town in a province better known for its fruit orchards and gem markets. It also happens to be the birthplace of my grandmother, though having left eons ago, I doubt she would recognise it today (she once told me there was no need to visit -- only trees and lotsa snakes!). Having said that, Chanthaburi is a world apart from Bangkok. We're back in sleepy, laidback Thai territory here, with its accompanying laidback prices (THB30 for a pork collar on rice!). I counted a grand total of just two 7-11s here around town. On just a single corner of some Sukhumvit sois in Bangkok, you might find more than that
Catholic CathedralCatholic CathedralCatholic Cathedral

Night shot. Apparently the oldest in Thailand (which is of course historically and predominantly Buddhist), built in the 19th century. Made me feel for a brief moment I was back in the Philippines.
within metres of each other! So it's a world apart, and a pleasant welcome to the last remaining region of the country that I've yet to explore.

Stayed at Muang Chan Hotel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Yindee Riverside RestaurantYindee Riverside Restaurant
Yindee Riverside Restaurant

Nice Moo Manaaw (Lime Pork)!
Sweet@Heart CafeSweet@Heart Cafe
Sweet@Heart Cafe

Consecutive nights spent here chilling along the river with Chaa Yen (Thai Iced Tea) and wifi.
Gun ShopGun Shop
Gun Shop

Now, I must REALLY be in the Philippines!
What wat?What wat?
What wat?

Can't remember...


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb