Exchange in Thailand #2: Moving Out From The Depressing Shack


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 11th 2017
Published: September 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Old roomOld roomOld room

It looks romantic and has a 1970s feel with the yellow light.
I will start writing about my life here in Bangkok about mostly mundane and boring aspects of life in general. I feel that Travelblog is still safe to write and blog as if it was in 2005 (btw I only started to use Internet from 2009 haha). I am reluctant to write about what I feel, think, experience in the major social media mostly because it has become so prevalent, that I don't wanna write something and let it shown to people who are not interested. If you stumble upon this by accident, you're welcome to read because that's one of the reason I write here.




#1 Moving out

It is difficult to find a reasonably priced room in Bangkok via the internet. There are some properties listed on some websites, but when you inquire its availability in the inquiry section, you could rarely receive a reply from the apartment owner, because most don't bother to manage their listings and would only wait for phone call from inquirers. So if you are not in the country yet, it will be very difficult to contact them.

So I found a place in Sathorn before I arrived
New RoomNew RoomNew Room

I can now say that I am in a better place now, HAHA
in Bangkok, it was a budget inn for short and long term stay. The room was very basic, for the price of around 300 THB a day (small discount given for long term stay), I would be glad to stay there if I am on the road. But I am here for school, to live like a city dweller for 4 months. I NEED a place that has proper furniture.

The room only has a table, a chair, a fan and a bed. No wardrobe. No aircond even I pay for the price above market rate. The room is literally a burning oven from 10am to 8pm. I had to ask to add in one more table to organise my belongings. Adding one more table inside the room of less than 10 meter square, meaning less space to move around as well.

The shower water pressure was weak. I had to convince myself that staying in a less-than-comfortable place for 4 months is endurable. No air cond, weak shower water pressure, inconducive study place are not culture shock, I will get used to it after a while, I have to get used to it.

But hell no, after a month staying in the dimly lighted room, with very basic facilities, I still didn't feel like home and became unproductive in my study. During the day time, the room got heated up by the sun, I would not be in any mood to do anything but to pray for rain and hope time pass faster so it would be night time again soon.

I do not hate the place, it is located in a quiet neighbourhood, 10 min walk to nearest MRT, lots of food options nearby, friendly janitor. But the management who is not interested in welcoming me staying longer and yet overcharge me for a basic room. I have to make a rational decision to move out, which as a economics student, I am obliged to do so.

Until it was 5 days before the rent's expired, a Thai friend of mine visited my place and urged me to move out as soon as possible, because I was clearly ripped off and the room was really not worth 6720 THB per month. After spending some more time on internet searching for room, I found a more decent room, actually more than decent for a single university student, for 9000 THB. For 2280 THB more, I get 5 times the space and a private bathroom, TV, AC, fridge, couch for guests, study table big enough for 2 persons, and a king-size bed. Although I would love to have a proper mini kitchen, but clearly eating out and buying food from the streets are the dining culture here in Thailand. The price is definitely on the expensive side, but since I am not staying here for 4 years, just less than 4 months, so it is fine.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement







Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb