Sa Wa Di ka


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 14th 2006
Published: October 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I arrived at the new airport in Bangkok at midnight on the 12th and the second I stepped out of the airport I got ripped off. I have been warned over and over of taxi drivers but for some reason unbeknown to myself I fell for it. For a 20 minute ride I paid 1400 baht ( 50AU ) when it should have cost no more than 500 baht! I wasn't happy but I've learnt from it and now I negotiate a price for everything before I hand over the coin. I've only been here for 2 days yet it feel's like a week.
Thailand is as an amazing place but im sick of being looked at like a target to all the locals. It's quietly driving me insane. Just something I'll have to get used to. My barteing skills have sharpened at a rapid rate even to the point where I offend the locals, I've been told that if they get offeneded and walk away unhappy you've got a good price. This is my goal for every transaction, beer included!
Leaving Ko san road tomorrow and head to Pattaya to meet up with a friend. I plan on being in Cambodia by late next week, I cant wait!
Take care,
Tim

Advertisement



16th October 2006

Sydney
Hey... that would be a cheap cab ride here in Sydney!! Safe travelling.
22nd October 2006

Hey Bro hows the travelling going try not to offend the locals to much they all know some sort of kung fu so watch out. Hope your Bartering skills are good enough to get free beers, take it easy mate

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0771s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb