Bangkok is ace but nae bonnie


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 8th 2014
Published: November 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Day 2 of Bangkok and the Jet Lagg is definitely getting worse so my beautiful, intelligent mother gave me this brilliant idea of doing a blog so in years to come when I have my mid life crisis or menopause, have loads of babies screaming about the place and Emma nipping in my ear this will just remind me of how amazing my life used to be, haha!! Anyway less of the future and more on now.

When we first arrived here I was very very apprehensive of what I was letting myself in for, as my best pally Hasler (who btw for those who don't know her is extremely blunt and is not scared of holding back, she'll call a spade a spade and a dog a dog but I love her dearly) she told me that Bangkok was an absolute dump and to get out soon as we got there (full of positives) and in all truth she was not wrong. It is a shit hole but I'm loving every minute of it!!! The people are so happy and never stop smiling which is why I guess Thailand is called the Land of Smiles. It's amazing and yes it stinks and yes it's busy but it's a great cultural experience. I've never been so happy getting a mound of epic food for 12p from a Thai lady who pretty much kens what I want and has my food ready when she spots me half way up the street and then getting a beer for 30p.... What even is life!!!!! If it wasn't so grotty I'd happily stay here forever and roll down Khao San Road eating and drinking everything on sight..... Definitely get this from my dad!!!!

We also bumped into our friend Ash who we met in America and this guy is pretty much a Thailand veteran so he told us all these things to go and see while we're here. So today the 5 of us hoped on a Tuk Tuk (totally unsafe as its meant for 2 people but hilarious all the same) and set off to see all the Temples around Bangkok. Our driver I nicknamed Stormin Norman as he had no safety awareness for other people on the roads and I'm sure he thought he was in a Fast & Furious film weaving in an out of traffic... Crazy man but again it's all about the experience. When we got there I said goodbye to Norman and gave him 20p for taking us what seemed a lifetime and he gave me the nicest smile, except he only had aboot 4 teeth!!!
It started hoooorin it down with rain and people don't lie when they say when it rains here it's like a Monsoon and holy hell it was nuts! We had to climb about 300 stairs (felt like more) to get to the top of the temple fighting off the river of water that was flowing down the steps which put me in a bad mood within the first 2 minutes as my new vans are wrecked cos numbnut Emma said if you wear flip flops and show your feet in the temples the monks will think your disrespecting them.. EHHHH???? But I went with what she said and now they are ruined, GOOOD EEEEEN!!!! Anyway we finally reached the top and it was the best thing I've ever seen (even if half the folk including the monks had flip flops on)h, not only was I at the top of Bangkok but there were like 50 Monks running around with massive full face smiles, also there were people praying to golden Buddhas, the room was filled with incense sticks and I've never felt so chilled in all my life!!
I went over to say hi to this Monk (as you do) he asked where I was from so I told him Scotland and he picked up his bamboo sticks and started flicking me with water while saying a prayer (not sure if he's praying for me as I said I was Scottish or if its just a thing they do) so once I was more drenched he gave me these white bracelets to wear which will bring calmness and joy to my life.... I asked him to put it on for me but he said I can't touch girls (in my head I wanted to ask if he was gay but I reckon that would have went down like a led balloon.....).

Every monk walking through the temple was again full of smiles and I started to get emotional as it was just so awesome to experience them and be in their home!! If someone had said "Jo I'll shave your head and give you an orange toga suit" I would have said YESS in a second. It was unbelieveable. 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb