Sunday Cinema - welcome meeting and light show & protests


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 29th 2014
Published: August 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I set off on a mission to find an SD card reader so that I could upload my photos from my camera on to my iPad as the wifi functionality on my camera has slowed down and it's like pulling teeth trying to upload my photos.



There are masses of shops around and a very large shopping centre called Times Square. It hoses lots of designer wear shops - Gucci, Ralph Lauren, Rolex etc and lots of other stores. There are 3 floors of restaurants and a cinema complex. There was a display on promotions a kids cartoon TV show which I have no knowledge of, but the display proved very popular with the visitors and shoppers.



I asked about an apple store but the info guy looked at me blankly so I said iPad, iPhone etc then the light went on and he pouted me in the direction of the 9th floor which was lifestyle apparently. I went up in the lift but couldn't find a store, but did find a book shop so made a purchase. Then I made my way up to the restaurants and had burger And fries for breakfast lol. I then decided I would go and see a film so went up to the 13th floor. I decided to go and see the film Lucy with Morgan Freeman and Scarlett Yohansen.



As I was an hour early for the film I went back out in to the heat of the day and the throngs of busy shoppers and the sound of traffic. I was still searching for the shop which sold an SD card reader but no luck. I went back to the cinema and took some photos of the sky line. I was particularly impressed with the bamboo scaffolding up to the 12th floor of the building opposite, held together with jubilee clips!



I went into the rather comfy theatre, with plush leather high backed seats with plenty of leg room and sat in my chosen seat, which I picked out earlier when I booked. On reflection I wish I had sat further back from the screen as it was so big. The film was good, original plot, lots of action, a bit violent in places but rather a sudden ending. I shall say no more in case you want to go and see it.



After the cinema I came down via one of the many escalators in the shopping centre they seemed to run between every other floor e.g 1st and 3rd and 2nd and 4th so it was a little difficult to negotiate my way around. On my travels I spotted an electronic store so enquired about the card reader. Yet again they did not stock one but advised I should go to a different shopping centre one stop up the tube net work.



By this time I was tired and had a head ache but soldiered on,that was my big mistake. The tube was as busy as usual and the entrance I used meant I had a long walk to the platform. The tube was crowded but I managed to squeeze on. I got off only to find crowd control in place as there was a food exhibition on at the conference centre near by. So I fell in line and followed the crowd only to find that on the rods below the bridge I walked across was a very large and noisy protest march. Lots of whistles going, chanting of slogans banners and placards and people wearing orange t shirts and baseball caps. It all got too much for me so I headed back to tube station and my hostel.



By the time I had made my way back to my stop, after taking the tube the wrong way, the protest march had reached the area where my hostel was. Crowd control was in force again so everyone who wanted to cross the rods had to use the pedestrian bridge. I headed back to my hostel only to find that I couldn't get to it as it was closed off and I think a small group of anti protesters were there and cordoned off by police. I explained that was where I was staying only to be told to go round. I did try but ended up going round in a big circle. On my second attempt to get back I was told the same thing again. This time I fell in line with the protestors for a short distance and then got back on the pavement and then headed off to go round the back of the block where my hostel was located and yay I finally got back to where I wanted to be!



Relieved in headed up to my hostel room, and surprise surprise there was Melita! I thought she was in China and she had been but had come back out for a few days and was then heading back in. So we had a chat and caught up, we thought it was so spooky we had been roomed together in bunks right next door to each other, in all the hostels, in all the world who would have thunk it lol. So we had a catch up about our travels and what was next for us and the hell that was caused by the demonstration outside and the annoyance it had caused us both.



At 6 pm I headed down to reception for the dragon trip welcome meeting. We were small but perfectly formed me, Bhavisha from Market Harborough and Nitzan from Israel. Our guide for the first part of our tour was a lady called Sally. We headed up to the 9th floor and the out door terrace for our briefing and a chat.



Afterwards we headed out to see the harbour lights. This was apparently a light show to music on the buildings in the harbour. We had to walk (quickly) to the ferry. It took about 10 minutes to get there and then we walked to the viewing gallery. There were hundreds of people there so we had to jostle for a good viewing position. I wiggled my way through the crowds so I could see clearly and get some good shots. Considering 44m Hong Kong dollars had been spent on the light show I have so say we were all feeling a little let down and it wasn't quite the light show we had been expecting. It lasted about 15 minutes if that and we couldn't hear the music the lights were dancing to. Still I can tick that box now.



We then headed for food and opted for a fast Chinese fast food restaurant. We placed our order, queued and then finally managed to find a seat but we to sit separately 2 and 2 as it was very busy and you had to grab ax seat when you could.



After dinner we headed to the Hollywood walk of fame. This is similar to the one in LA but was for Chinese and Hong Kong actors e,g Bruce Lee, Jackie Chan etc. After the walk we opted to head back to the hostel as we were all very tired and we had an early start the next morning.



Xxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb