Into the wilds of Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 4th 2014
Published: July 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I had booked into a hostel called Bodega Bangkok for 4 nights as reviews suggested it was sociable. I arrived mid afternoon and chilled out updating this blog. This was really the beginning of being on my own for the next few months and I didn't struggle to get involved with a group of people who were playing Jenga. Two of the girls from the tour were still around so I had agreed to meet them at the nearest MRT station and bring them back to the hostel for some drinks. Earlier in the day I had walked down Soi Cowboy which looked like a a good shout for drinks later,however, at 9:00pm when I walked down it to fetch the girls I was surprised by the place. It's effectively a stretch of bars specifically for the type westerner that wants fun with asian girls...well some of them were girls. We ambled back to the hostel and had a few drinks. The girls weren't really enjoying themselves and left. I made friends with a welsh chap called Tom who I ended up hanging with for the next few days. He was a lot younger than me but I couldn't really tell. We ended up going to Soi Cowboy later that night and I witnessed some things I never thought I'd see ever. I wasn't really liking it and came back to the hostel for sleep.



The next day I got up and went exploring. Having done a lot of the main attractions on the first day I soon ran out of things to do and went to a shopping mall to get some new shorts and some AC. I came back to the hostel,met up with Tom and we started drinking with the hostel folk. We ended up playing beer pong which ashamedly was the first time I'd ever played. I think we did pretty well but got cheated out of the second round. Not that I'm bitter or anything. Our team name was "clammy and moist" which Tom and I thought was an accurate description of our current well being. The hostel's great but very hot.



We had more of a relaxed day the following day and spent the afternoon at a local hotel pool. I'm not sure if we were allowed to be there or not but it was very nice and we did purchase some drinks. On that evening Tom and I went to Lebua tower where we could purchase an expensive drink but got an excellent view of the city at night. It was Toms last night so we went back to the hostel and played some more beer pong into the early hours of the morning.



Tom left the next day and I was suffering from the night before so I hung around the hostel and got chatting to some people that had been to Vietnam and they gave me some great tips and advice. I was planning on going to Kanchanaburi for the next few days, return to Bangkok and then get a sleeper train to Chiang Mai on Friday (11th July). My phone started playing up but seemed fine. On my last night at Bodega I had planned a quiet one but as was the case on most nights this never happened.



The next day my phone was officially broken so I postponed my trip to Kanchanaburi by a day to get my phone fixed which took some time. As it happened I could only get a train to Chiang Mai on Saturday so I left for Kanchanaburi late afternoon on Wednesday (9th) and stayed another night at the hostel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb