Life Post-Coup


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 25th 2014
Published: May 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Life here is fine. There were some protests this weekend, mostly protesting the coup. There have been many warnings to to stay away (more than usual), and they're pretty easy to avoid, which is what I've been doing. Aside from a few key spots, the entire city is normal and all tourist attractions are open during the day.

I ended up having to go in to work this weekend. Classes were canceled, mind you, but teachers at many companies were still required to show up and be "on standby" for whatever reason. Classes are scheduled to resume as normal this week. I take this as a good sign and feel safer for it.

Curfew is still in affect. No idea how long it will last. It's a little inconvenient, I admit, but I also know it's for my own safety. Unlike many curfews of my youth, I follow this one and am usually tucked in safely well before 10pm. Walking home from the bus stop last night at 9 felt like I was walking home after midnight--aside from a few people dashing from their cars to their homes, the streets in my neighborhood were fairly empty and quiet. In the center of the city I know this wasn't the case as there was a lot more traffic while people rushed to go home. It's almost like having another rush hour.

My life remains fairly unaffected and I still feel safe. Am I worried? Sure, a little. But that's what uncertainty does to a person. I can't predict what the future will bring.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.362s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 83; dbt: 0.294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb