Festival and Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 16th 2014
Published: April 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I have been bad and not written things down for a while, so this may not be as in depth as the previous ones, but I will try.

After Bali I Flew to KL again for the Future Music Festival Asia. Lissie and Arie were already there and had been to the first 2 days of the festival, I only bought a ticket for the last day as that’s when all the artists I wanted to see were going to be on, also wasn’t sure of the situation, whether I was going to like it or have anyone to talk to etc.. any way I met Lissie and her Swedish friend on the Saturday morning so we could sight see and things before me and Lissie headed to the festival later that day. It was strange being back in KL, having visited it before I knew my way around the transport system and a few places we went. So I was a bit of a tour guide, which was nice! We even foud ourselves in the Skybar opposite the Petronas towers I had a cocktail to celebrate the beautiful view. It was a bit overcast and even rained a bit but it was still hot. I helped Lissies friend buy a bus ticket to Cameron Highlands for the next day and even hit the same central market that I had gone to before. Again it was strange to be back!

We were a bit later than we would’ve liked getting back to the hostel to get ready for the festival, I checked my phone on the wifi and there were messages all over facebook and whatsapp that the festival had been cancelled! Apparently 4 people died due to a drug overdose on the previous day, so they shut the whole thing down 40 minutes before it was due to start! Don’t do drugs kids, it ruins it for everyone else! We were already planning on meeting Arie anyway so we headed out. Arie’s friends had a car and drove us around t the Festival site for a start to see if it was actually cancelled, which it was. Me and Lissie had bought some vodka and coke anyway and proceeded to get drunk regardless. We found ourselves in an Irish bar – where they were playing the 6 Nations!! SO happy I got to see it! – after a while we went for a drive to Zouk – which it appears everyone else wanted to go now the festival was cancelled. We didn’t go in, after a lot of driving around I suggested the bar I went to in Chinatown on my last visit. He hit that place and stayed till late! It was a good night! Despite the utter disappointment of the festival being cancelled.

Next day me and Lissie met Arie and the others for lunch near Times Square, which was nice. Lissie was leaving for Phuket later that day so we went back and I just chilled for the day then, skyped people etc. Catching a flight to Thailand the next day too.

1st stop in Thailand was Krabi Airport where I got a bus to Ao Nang to meet Lissie and the hostel where I had booked her in. Havet House. It was a nice place, a little far from the main beach area, but that’s because it’s cheaper - £4 a night. We walked down to the main area and had some dinner and a couple of drinks then we realised it was St. Paddys day as our Chang beer was green – I say ‘we’ Lissie didn’t realise until someone told her in the Irish bar a considerable time later, she thought they were just handing out green plastic hats because it was an Irish bar! Numpty – needless to say we ended up in an Irish bar and had yet another great night, wasn’t too late this time. Next day we got up and headed for breakfast about 12 midday and straight to the beach for the day. We also had an hour and 45 minute massage each for about £7! We had to go away from the beach to the little open air massage parlours with just mattresses on the floor. It was amazing though! We even got free fresh fruit and tea/coffee after too! That night we went out for dinner and got drunk again! Lissie is a bad influence on me – not that I need much persuasion. I dragged her away about 2am it was about 3 by the time we walked home and had a Mcdonalds on the way.

Next day we were up ready to go to Railay beach that we had heard so much about. We got there without booking accommodation and went in search for some bungalows, that idea fell on its face so Lissie used a coffee shops wifi to book us a Hotel Tonsai Beach. It was so so hot walking in the sand with our rusksacks on. Very uncomfortable. When we got there and found the place it was more of a resort than a hotel. 2 pools, our room was a poolside view one, we were so hot and sweaty we got straight in after dumping are stuff. Heaven. I did not want to move from the poolside, ever. Lissie went for an explore while I baked there. We felt like queens, we had our own bathroom, a safe, bathrobes and slippers and even a TV! Strange what little things you appreciate after life in hostels for so long. We went out for dinner and a couple of drinks in a cool place with a rooftop area where we had some chilli margaritas.

Next day we got up early had the complimentary breakfast and headed to the beach to get a boat to the Phanang Beach which was the south one where you can pretty much walk to the rest. We spent the morning sunbathing in this stunning location – please refer to pics – I cannot justify it with words. There were no restaurants or bars, other than boats selling bits of food and drink. Over barbequed corn and fruit smoothies we decided this was the life! Around midday we went for a walk to find the climb which lead to a viewpoint and even a lagoon. Neither of us realised that the ‘climb’ was an actual climb – not stairs or anything – but muddy paths and steep rocky sections with nothing but a rope to help you. It was exciting! We got nearly to the top and asked one of the few fellow mentalists doing the climb what was ahead. They said the climb down to the lagoon was really steep, but we decided to have a look anyway. It was tough and bear in mind we only had flip flops, which we soon put in our beach bags and went bare foot instead. There were part where my mother would have killed me if she had saw. Eventually we saw the lagoon and it looked good, we were doing this mental ass climbing in the scorching heat as well, not in the sun, but still in the heat, so the lagoon looked even more inviting. I was taking it slower than Lissie and there were a few bits that were even scarier, it was getting worse, there was one bit where I started it and I physically couldn’t move because I got ‘the fear’. Started shaking, then I got back over and told Lissie I couldn’t do it and I will meet her at the viewpoint instead, I felt bad but also scared, she had scraped her hand at the same bit as well. It was the last bit before the lagoon. I was gutted. I hung around a bit and waited for a group of guys to pass so I could head on back, but one of them found a hole down to the easier rope and even helped me down. I did it! I shouted to Lissie that I had made it! I was still shaking but I was now high on life and about to get in a lagoon for the first time! It was completely amazing, like something out of a film. The water was salty and the bottom of it was clay, but it was so relaxing to lie there and probably made better by my enormous sense of accomplishment I had.

After this we headed back up the difficult climb, tired now after having relaxed, our legs were not responding like they were previously. There was one bit where it was totally 90 degrees upright. At this bit I lost my footing and slid down the rope onto a rock in between my legs (if I had been a boy the climb would have stopped there). I scuffed my knee and landed on a rock in the middle of my foot. But luckily I was fine, it looked worse than it was apparently, it even caused a polish guy to spot me on the next bit too. We walked to the viewpoint and then back down the way we came. All in all it was a great experience and I would do it again tomorrow. People were doing it in proper climbing shoes and even had talc powder for their hands, nah we just did it barefoot! Ha ha!

Lissie stayed there as she completely loved the place.

Next was an overnight bus to meet Kieran in Bangkok. I had to get a taxi boat from Tonsai to Ao nang. I had to get help to get off the boat again as my damn rucksack is too heavy. It’s the first time I had worn it as a backpack as had been using the wheels most of the time, but because I was on sand I couldn’t. The bus left at 3pm to go to krabi, where we changed busses, which was still a small 9 seater, but luckily I was in the front seat. We then stopped about 6pm to wait for the next bus where we could have something to eat etc. The bus got there at 7.30pm, luckily it wasn’t full so I had a spare seat next to me. The seats were one that could recline all the way back which was good, and I hadn’t expected it. They played two films up until 10.30pm and then the lights went out. Slept ok, got annoyed at parts because I couldn’t get comfy. I arrived in Bangkok at 5.30am went straight to meet Kieran, had some breakfast, with a beer, and generally chilled out before having to go to the train station about 4pm to get the tickets for the night train to Chiang Mai. 2 nights in a row! We did opt for a first class cabin each though so at least I had an actual bed to sleep in and even had my own room! Luxury! We missed the food on the restaurant cart so had to survive on beer and crisps! Not a problem! Fell asleep about 11 and I slept pretty well.

Pulled into Chiang Mai station about 10am. We headed straight to the hotel, monged out a bit then got up to get some food. The main reason I wanted to go to Chiang Mai was the food, night markets etc. The lunch I had that day wasn’t amazing, but all the food after that was really nice! We had two nights where we met one of Kierans friends that lives there called Claudia, she was actually leaving while we were there to go back to the UK to live again. Claudia is a real foodie and knew exactly where to take us. We had one night in this food ‘restaurant’ where only the locals go to eat, this was Claudias leaving do from the cooking class she teaches so there was quite a few of us. There was lots of food on offer, dim sum, rice, satay chicken, soup, and even chicken feet! I can’t remember it all but I know it was lovely, and I was full! It was a lovely evening. Afterwards 4 of us went to the night markets to have a look around. They were the best markets I have seen so far, the food looks fresh, even though it was 10ish pm. We tried a couple of bits, mainly chamomile tea. The second night we headed to dinner with Claudia and Patrick again to another of her favourite restaurant on the outside of the city. We just let her order everything, the expert! Ribs, garlic prawns, grilled fish, and soup. Delicious!



Also had a night eating street food, again really nice! The Banana Roti was amazing! Basically my trip to Chiang Mai was all about food! But that was the main reason I wanted to go! We headed back to Bangkok on the night train again for two nights before we both flew to different places. I went to Terminal 21 shopping centre one day as my flip flops had broken, as had my watch, found a watch but not flip flops. Also bought a few bits from H&M, sod the labels! At night we headed to the Nana Plaza in Bangkok. Oh my word. Crazy place! We got chatting to an old couple who travel for two months at a time quite often. They were pretty cool! The sights to see in nana plaza were so amazing that we headed there the next night too, after a day by the pool! It was election time so we only ever were allowed to have beer if it was served in paper CocaCola cups! Kieran left early morning and I chilled by the pool again until checkout to my next hostel was called ‘in a box’ which was pretty great, down an alleyway but it was a great hostel, one of the best I have stayed, however location wasn’t great, but only stayed there cos it was easy to get to the airport from there. Next day I went to catch my flight to Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam to meet Grandma and my Cousin Adam!


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 31


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb