Tax Time!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 11th 2014
Published: March 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Part I

It's tax season in Thailand, and time to file returns. I received my paperwork last week along with instructions for filing online. I'd been advised that the website is completely in Thai, so I should either use Google translate or have a coworker help me. Or both.

Following the instructions, we found the webpage and then discovered that as a first time user of the website, I'd need to register. Simple taxes, simple account creation. No problem.

There are only three things that are certain in life: death, taxes, and the in-simplicity of taxes.

We three worked together to fill out the registration form. We had it filled out completely and then... nothing. We went back to the instruction. No information there. We looked around the website. Nope.

My coworker finally ended up calling around to headquarters, our big boss, and another center for help. She probably called a few more people, but I have no idea who. In the end it was concluded (after talking to another teacher, as well) that as a first time user of the site, I'd have to register in person at the tax office. (So that online registration form is to do what?) But it might be good to have someone go with me since my local tax office speaks little English and my Thai capabilities do not extend to this area. Luckily, my boss's wife said he could take me. Next week. When he's back in the country.

Until then, I have no idea if I owe money and I'm a bit nervous about spending anything, just in case I need it. And I have no idea when the filing deadline is.

As I said, there are only three things in life that are certain.



Part II

I met my boss at the tax office bright and early Monday morning. (What a great start to my weekend.) The process was easy, but I will say that having someone who could ask questions and read the forms made a huge difference. (They're only in Thai!) I suspect I could have done this on my own, but with him there it was much faster and easier. Within thirty minutes we were done. I'm relieved to know I don't owe a thing. And I even get a little money back. I guess that was worth getting up early for.

But I do wonder why it is that my coworkers and I need to do this, while friends at other companies don't. When the process was completed I was given paperwork to take with me when I renew my visa next fall. Maybe my friend's companies have their paperwork? No idea.

I'm just glad this is done.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb