Day 3 Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 29th 2013
Published: December 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 3 Bangkok



I woke up the next morning to find the hostel room riddled with empty beer and liquor bottles. And I could only guess what was hiding inside the used up tissue paper three beds down from me. I made my way downstairs and outside to the patio, where a few early risers where staring into their tea and coffees trying desperately to recollect (or forget) last nights overindulgence's. As I sipped my coffee and watched the geckos chase each other around the yellow hostel sign, Mike from Bristol sat next to me. "Hey mate." He said as he lit his cigarette. "How did you sleep?"

"After that last game of ring of fire, I just passed out. So not too bad. And you?" I replied.

"It was brutal mate, I couldn't sleep a wink, with all those wankers yelling and crashing into shit."

"I guess, I was lucky then."

"Well, you're lucky you got a good sleep. Because tonight the whole hostel is going to pat pong for the ping pong show." A deep and wide smile spread across his face.

"Awesome, I'm down." I exclaimed. "Want to grab a pad Thai and a lassie and see the Golden palace?"

"Sounds good mate, let me see if Dan, and Louis want to join." He said as he ran up the stairs.

As it turned out, most of the people in the hostel had not seen anything of Bangkok besides the inside of clubs, restaurants and bars. So a troop of us got together and set out to get some grub and check out the city, which was actually begging to flood badly. After a quick bite and a very boring tour of the grand palace a Canadian guy named Trevor and I wanted to check out the flood. The group wanted nothing to do with Trevor and my obsession to see the flood up close. The group wished us the best of luck as they shook their heads and we parted in separate directions.

The cab was still driving when Trevor and I saw police and orange construction signs. We yelled "stop!" And jumped out of the cab. The cabbie looked at us like we were nuts as he saw two white kids walking into the flood zone as thousands of Thai families walked with heavy loads the opposite way. The entire neighborhood looked like a Thai remake of that ridiculous Christian Slater film <em style="font-size: 1.4rem;">Hard Rain. Blocks and blocks were at least waist deep in water. Military trucks were crawling their way through the flood transporting people unable to make it to safety on their own. Canoes, tiny boats and make shift rafts were floating and moving up and down every street and ally way. Making the city look like an impoverished version of Venice. Some of the children were laughing, splashing and some were even swimming through the streets with out a care in the world, like it was a snow day in the States. Trevor and I walked around a bit more taking pictures and talking with a few locals that spoke broken English. We soon grew tired and decided to head back to the hostel for a quick nap. Or so we thought.

Back at the hostel, it was an Englishmen named Simon's 30th birthday. And the festivities were beginning. I walked through the community center and about 20 people were creating a giant circle with a huge bucket in the middle with playing cars surrounding it. They asked if I wanted to play "ring of fire" and I told them "thank you but no". I told them I was still too hungover and I needed a nap. Then one already buzzed guy from Wales came up to me and said "Mate, you are on holiday in Thailand. Naps are for when you go back home. See these two elephants on this bottle of Chang? They are lonely and need a family to take care of them. So help me get them a family." I smiled and did see a point of intellect in his inebriated logic. So I sat down and began to play.

Midnight came around rather quickly. After a torrential down pour the rain finally gave up, and the call to go out to Kho San Road was sent throughout the hostel. We went to a few bars and clubs but finally at around 2am we all piled into Tuk-Tuks and headed to Pat Pong, the district of the infamous Ping Pong shows. We stumbled into one of the clubs after haggling over the price with the doormen for about 5 minutes and promptly ordered drinks and took all the seats surrounding the center stage. The lights dimmed and the show was about to begin. I sipped my overly priced beer as a parade of naked women danced off beat on the stage in the background. All the guys (and most of the girls) were so excited for this show we were literally on the edge of our seats just waiting for the show to begin. Just then a fully naked Thai girl walks around the back of our seats and tapes an inflated balloon on every three of four seats right behind us. I thought this was weird, but hell I guess they heard it was Simon's birthday. Then a very small and rather plump girl sits down on stage with a basket of some sort, sets it down, rips off her thong and spreads her legs. She then sticks a rather large tube in her vagina and begins shooting paper darts at the balloons right above our heads! As the balloons began to explode, so did our laughter at this jubilee of vice. Next was the goldfish girl, the razor blade girl, and finally the coup de grace was the ping pong girl. This time we were handed ping pong paddles and she began to fire them directly at us. At this point most of us were so wasted we were catching them and throwing them at each other. A group of Aussies behind us jumped forward and smashed a ball right back at the girl like it was a return winner at Wimbledon. At one point Dan caught a ball and dropped it into Mike's drink, we were hysterical with laughter as we downed the drink and grabbed it with his teeth.

After the show and a accidental trip to a bordello we fled the scene back to Kho San Road. Our intoxication began to manifest into a drunken stupor. So we walked down the street like millions of backpackers have done before and ate some street food and talked about the nights escapades. In hopes the food would soak up all the booze in our bellies and delay the raging hangover that was sure to come. It was an amazing night full of instant friendships and unforgettable experiences. I plopped into my bunk, looked up to the ceiling noticing a crude drawing of a penis for the first time and thought to myself, "wow this is only my third day in Thailand."

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb