Kat Slater London, Bonjour Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 2nd 2013
Published: October 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

right, here we go...

as I'm sure most of you know, I've decided to quit my job and move to Thailand for the next few months. I'm going to help out a renewable energy charity in north Thailand, where I'll probably just be digging holes and trying to keep out of trouble. I flew out last night after an emotional farewell to the missus, and proceeded to heathrow slightly anxious due to the fact that I had a one way ticket, a visa and... Well that was about it. I forgot to look into accomodation or how to get to this volunteering place so I was slightly concerned about getting it sorted.

Luckily, I ran into my childhood best friend who I haven't seen in 10 years! He was on his way to bangkok ( on another flight) and recommended a hostel for me. As I write this I'm sat in the hostel bar having a beer waiting for him to turn up so that we can have a beer. A central theme is emerging. He had some good pointers which settled me a bit. Apart from spider stories.

The flight was quite good, and massively undersold meaning that I had no one next to me and I could take full advantage of the 3 inch leg room. Food was actually quite nice, if not a little plane (a little aeronautical pun for you). I drank enough beer to sedate a small horse. Due to the fact that I am the size of a small horse, this led to me sleeping for most of the flight only waking when the prick behind me got up to go for a piss. He was about 75 so that was every 5 minutes.

I decided to stay just off of the khao San road, and got the train most of the way. Instead of getting getting a taxi the rest of the way, I decided to walk. It turns out that having a set of bollocks doesn't instantly make you an amazing map reader, and it took over an hr in 36 degree sunshine. I was sweating like a 1970's children's tv presenter getting a knock on the front door.

After a quick shower, I decided to head out to investigate the town and soak in some culture. But then it started to rain, and I mean rain! So I made an executive decision and am know having a beer In the hostel.

hopefully the rain will die down soon and I can go for a walk about. Khao San road looks like a dive full of white people in vests and baseball caps with SWAG written on them. Time will tell. one good thing I noticed was the entrance to macdonalds was blocked by a 80 yr old lady selling pad Thai. Stick it the man, gran!

Next few days will involve seeing some sights and then jumping on a bus t'north.

Cheers me dears

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb