Final Blog


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 27th 2005
Published: May 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

OK so this is it, the final blog... I now have a passport in desperate need of renewal due to the lack of space for future stamps, and enough air miles to get me to the moon and back, so maybe it is time to return home.

Over the past 6 months I have had a great time, and I have been lucky enough to have been able to celebrate 3 New Years which has definitely been an added and unexpected bonus. I have also been fortunate enough to have met many incredible people, both local to the area I was travelling in and also fellow travellers, many of whom have had a tremendous affect on me and have been very inspirational. I have experienced many different cultures, religions, beliefs, and learnt an awful lot about the people in the countries I was travelling in and maybe a little about myself too. I think one of the most rewarding things I realised while travelling is that the vast majority of people are good and my personal beliefs have definitely changed for the better... ‘Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness’ - Mark Twain

I must at this point say a big thank you to my family and friends who inspired, motivated, and generally cajoled me into taking this journey, I think they knew it would do me good and they were definitely right, (in the words of one of my friends….’Phil, Just F**kin Do It !’). I should also reiterate the excellent advice I was given to travel alone, it really is the best way, and allows you to be open to so many more people and experiences than if you travel in a group.

So I am now in Bangkok and my lovely sister who works for the airline I am travelling back on is due to meet me here in 2 days to make sure I do infact return back to the UK (I think she knows me too well), although I do have a little more time left before returning to work so maybe some local UK and European travelling may be in order.

In the meantime, I hope you have enjoyed my ramblings, I hope I haven’t bored you too much, or annoyed people with my poor grammar and spelling (it was never going to be a literary masterpiece) and it would be nice to think that maybe I have possibly motivated another to go and enjoy similar experiences to mine.

I have just looked at my first blog and noted that I used music lyrics in that one; so in order to keep it all connected here are some appropriate lyrics to finish on...

And now, the end is near;
And so I face the final curtain.
My friend, I’ll say it clear,
I’ll state my case, of which I’m certain.

I’ve lived a life that’s full.
I’ve traveled each and every highway;
But more, much more than this,
I did it myyyyyyy waaaaayyyyyy.


Wise words Frankie.





THE END ?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb