Culture Shock 101


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 2nd 2005
Published: April 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

**Note: I have arrived back in NZ safely but due to not being able to access my blog in Thailand I have to do it now...** The following diary entries are from my journal that I wrote while there...I shall do it by cities etc

-------------------------------------------------------------------

April 2

I can't believe I am in Bangkok and I still cannot believe I am doing this...travelling Thailand alone. I admit, I am somewhat nervous but other people have done it alone so why can't I?

I couldn't believe how humid and hot it was when I got off the plane but I love it. And I am so glad I arranged transportation before arriving here to get to the hotel.

Any way, I am going to bed and tomorrow the journey begins...
--------------------------------------
April 3

Well, I had my first taste of culture shock today and my first lesson in travelling.

I went down to the infamous Khao San Road today and wandered around. I had bought a new bag/purse that I was all excited about only to get it stolen while sitting in a cafe so that was my lesson today-watch your stuff carefully! I don't know if I am just a "wuss" or if it was also because I was in a new country but I started crying and felt like the biggest twit ever! Thankfully an older couple came by and gave me some money so I could take a Tuk Tuk back to the hotel and get my debit card etc (all my money was stolen) and after that all was well (apart from losing the money!).

What can I say, Bangkok is nothing like I expected, from what I have seen so far (which isn't much) it definetly is not somewhere where I want to spend much time. I find it very dirty, busy and I find the people not overly friendly here although the language barrier I'm sure plays a part...
-----------------------------------------
April 4

I wandered around some more today and went to the Grand Palace which was quite amazing to see. Just the detail that is put into building their palaces and temples are amazing...unfortunately I didn't have my camera with me so no pictures...maybe when I come back...
--------------------------------------

April 5

Hung around the hotel pool and Khao San Road before catching a Tuk Tuk to the train station.

I must say that people drive like maniacs here...on the way to the train station there was a traffic jam so people on motorcycles decided to drive on the sidewalks...and even apart from that, although there are painted lanes on the road, they seem to mean nothing. People (especially motorcycles) drive where they would like and love to honk their horns. You would never catch me driving here...

I'm glad to be leaving Bangkok to be honest....



Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb