Well the Hong Kong Airport anyways ....


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 13th 2008
Published: March 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today was my departure day from Bangkok and I am on my way home (I miss my big baby girl Charlotte). This was a wonderful trip and I am sad that it had to end but at the same time I am feeling quite fortunate to have had the experience. I honestly have nothing to say that is negative about this trip and I have fallen in love with Thailand; it may rival my love for Cuba if that tells you anything!!

I made it to the airport in record time thanks to my taxi driver Wanchai (which only meant that I had that Wang Chung song Everybody Have Fun Tonight in my head the whole way there ... I am so immature). I could not get breakfast at the hotel because I was leaving quite early so I grabbed a sandwich at the airport. It's funny how they make sandwiches here. They cut it on the diagonal like we do but then stack it and stuff vegetables between the two halves so you are basically biting through four slices of bread.



I saw that they had iced thai coffee but could not see that they had hot thai coffee. I asked the waitress if they had the hot version and she said no. I just said "oh that's too bad because it's one of my favourites" ... well she turned around and said "oh I make for you". It was the best coffee ever especially when all the condensed milk puddles at the bottom. Oh yummy goodness and the perfect way to leave behind Thailand.

I was rooting around the little shops while I was waiting for my flight in the hopes of finding Thai Rhum; not that my suitcase could really fit anything more but I was going to make it work come hell or high water. Well I changed my mind quickly enough when I saw that they had dried galengal and dried kaffir lime leaves; two key ingredients for the flavouring of pad thai and probably not easily found in our part of the world. So I bought two little tins of each for 200 baht or about $ 7.00 (well worth the price!).

I had booked all my seats ahead of time and had taken aisle seats all the way around. Lucky me (we know that a guru said so) I had no one in my row so I got to leave Bangkok with a view. This is the only way that I can find to describe what it looked like; being that it was all rice paddies and fields (of course, dotted with the occasional temple). It looked like eyeshadow palettes; all little squares lined up neatly each with a different colour. I don't know if that makes any sense to anyone reading this but that's how I will remember it.

On the way here, I had noticed that there was an actual camera mounted to the plane seeing that we could actually watch it from our seat (I think that my mom watched part of it on the internet ... I love my mom!!). I just wondered where the actual camera was though. Well when the captain announced that we were commencing our descent into Hong Kong, I flipped the channel and just as I did the wheels came out so I guess that the camera is under the plane! It was really cool because I saw the whole landing right down to the wheels touching the ground and then it shut off. The scenery as you land in Hong Kong is breathtaking. The water was like a mirror it was so calm and this beautiful colour of greenish teal. There are mountains all around; you could see them clearly this time because the sky was a lot clearer and the water was dotted with ships, fishing boats and other vessels.

So now I have walked the length of this airport and actually bought chocolates (only because the box looks like a little suitcase with all of these travel stickers on it). I just keep thinking that I want to come back to this area, without a doubt. Hey mom ... you want to go to China next year????

Mom, Dad ... I am booked right through to Ottawa so there does not seem to be any changes to my return itinerary. Thanks again for doing the shuttling back and forth to and from the airport for your daughter who can't seem to sit in one place for more than 10 minutes.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb