Bangkok - Day 3


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 7th 2013
Published: January 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I woke early again and headed out around 8am for a tasty banana ice shake. This was definitely the best time to be out, as the temperature was pleasant and none of the usual salespeople were around. I decided to spend the day visiting Bangkok's two main attractions: The Grand Palace and the Buddhist temple Wat Pho. This was by far the busiest day for my camera so far and I have tried to just put the highlights on here. Some parts could not be photographed, including the ancient and sacred Emerald Buddha, although clearly someone has: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emerald_Buddha

After the Grand Palace, I had a tasty chicken noodle soup before heading on to Wat Pho, which pre-dates the Grand Palace and includes similarly ornate architecture and contains a 43 metre long reclining Buddha. By this point the lack of sleep and heat were beginning to take their toll - visitors to the Grand Palace and Wat Pho are required to dress properly, which means full length trousers for men!

Bangkok's roads seem to be in permanent gridlock and the best way to travel between places near the river is via the Chao Phraya River Express. I caught this home to shower and change, then again in the opposite direction to Central pier in downton Bangkok with the aim of getting the best view of the sunset in town - at Sky Bar in the Bangkok State Tower, the city's tallest building. I was slightly late but couldn't complain as I sipped the most expensive Coca Cola I've ever bought (over £7 - more than a day's wages for many of the city's residents).

I stayed at Sky Bar until I thought I might be pushing my luck not buying a second drink then got a taxi back to Rambuttri Road. This is not as chaotic than Khao San Road and there is less hassle. I walked its full length to decide which bar I liked the best and settled on "The Pharmacy", which was decorated with coloured lights and sold reasonably priced cocktails. I got chatting to a Colombian called James, who strongly recommended I visit Colombia to check out the women and showed me pictures of girlfriends he's had to illustrate the point. There was also a North Korean whose name was hard to pronounce so we called him "Kim". Kim had just spent a month diving on Koh Tao. We were frequently joined by the bar owner, a young Thai lady called Nan, who had a winning smile and a genuine interest in her customers. This won her plenty of loyalty, not least from Robert, a Londoner who had met Nan last year and came to see her this evening having just arrived in Bangkok and before he'd even found a room. Despite my tiredness, I ended up staying until Nan closed the bar at around 3am.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Grand PalaceGrand Palace
Grand Palace

Temple of the Emerald Buddha.
Wat PhoWat Pho
Wat Pho

Pictures of President Obama's visit.


11th January 2013

Great pictures
Really enjoyed looking at your pictures, could almost fancy Thailand after all! Especially enjoyed the majesty of the world's most expensive glass of coke (&view of course!) Love Kate nKeithxx
13th January 2013

Loving the blogs
Good stuff mate, sounds like you're having a great time and meeting some interesting people. Wish I'd found that street of bars sounds much better than where we were in Bangkok!

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0838s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb