The Temple Tour


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 7th 2006
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

When we got back to Thailand, Catherine went back up north and I spent a few days in Bangkok on my own to do some sightseeing. I've been through Bangkok dozens of times and yet never seen all of the main sights. So, after finding a place on Khao San Rd, I set out to do some exploring...


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The Standing BuddhaThe Standing Buddha
The Standing Buddha

This Buddha was pretty impressive
Where the Lucky Buddha residesWhere the Lucky Buddha resides
Where the Lucky Buddha resides

I did get to see Lucky but as soon as I left they shut the doors. A monk inside told me they were 'very, very busy'.
KittenKitten
Kitten

There was tons of cats at the temple and this little guy was just chilling out.
Rama VIII BridgeRama VIII Bridge
Rama VIII Bridge

The river was very muddy, perhaps from the monsoons.
Golden figures Golden figures
Golden figures

These surround the temple, inside is an impressive array of Buddhas and paintings although no photos were allowed
JoyJoy
Joy

This is to show how big the golden temple is, as well as show off the beautiful outfit they had me wear since my clothing was deemed inappropriate


18th July 2006

orchids
I.ve just looked at that glorious picture of the orchids and the colours just amaze me. They are so wonderful. I think there must be colours over there that we don't see round home. I think I need to go back to the orchid growing again after that lot!
20th July 2006

happy travels
Wow.....the pics reminded me of my travels in china- really miss it! Cant wait to hear more about your travels! Can't wait to see you in England......there's a lot of catching up to do! enjoy the rest of your time in Thailand..keep in touch

Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 24; qc: 110; dbt: 0.262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb