Tailored Suits


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 24th 2012
Published: September 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

For those who have email subscribed, you may have seen the title of the last blog post mentioned tailored suits. I ended up deciding to split the post up a bit so individually there wasn't too much in one post.

After we woke up (about lunch time locally), we decided to have a wander around the hotel and see what is about. There's a nice looking swimming pool with bar, and a fitness centre...as if I'd ever use the gym :P There's also a massage parlour (not THAT type...I think), and 2 restaurants. An italian called Vivaldi's who strangely also seems to offer some Japanese inspired dishes...weird. But tasty looking 😊 Also, there's an 'English style pub' restaurant, that has free flow beer for a set price and seems to be celebrating oktoberfest a little early. I think we will go there for dinner tonight as the sound of assorted draft beers is crying out to me!

After that we went to check out the attached 'shopping centre'. I was initially underwhelmed as it consisted of exactly two tailor shops and nothing else. Then we stepped in, and the guys inside were really nice. It turns out, I can get 2 suits, 2 shirts and 2 ties for 10,000 baht which works out at about £200. Tailored suits, I might point out. Heading into Burtons and you might get a suit for £130 but it's not tailored, you have limited selection of material or cut and it's not as awesome as having a made to measure suit. Or in this case, two made to measure suits. One with a classic style in black, another in a lighter, creamy colour in a more modern, form fitting style with thin lapels.

As I was getting measured to fit, the other tailor was working on Tahnee...and now not only am I spending an unanticipated 200 on suits, but now Tahnee's getting a tailored formal dress for 6000 baht (£130). I took pictures of Tahnee choosing her material and dress etc while I was getting measured.

We go back tonight for our first fitting. These guys work FAST!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb