Chinatown and Little India


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 7th 2012
Published: August 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After five days of class, I decided it was time for a day off to explore the city. I took a Pakistani friend with me, not quite sure where the day would take us. We had a map, camera, and few expectations.

One place I really wanted to see was Chinatown. Before I moved to China I always loved visiting them, and now after living in China for 4 years, I'm curious to see and compare the two. We took a river boat up from the BTS (the skytrain) and walked vaguely aware of where we were headed. We found it, enjoyed it, and moved on. After 4 years in China, it's not as novel and exciting as it once was.

Our goal was to reach another place on the map, but we got lost. Luckily for us, we ended up in Little India, somewhere else I'd wanted to see, but wasn't marked on the map. My friend speaks four languages, including Punjab, so he was able to ask people there for good restaurant suggestions. We ended up at a food court and ordered half the menu at the vegetarian establishment. It was fun to eat Indian food with
Chinatown, BangkokChinatown, BangkokChinatown, Bangkok

I love the pink taxis.
someone who's more familiar with it and knows what's best. By the time we were finished, we were so full we could barely walk.

Time to ask directions and move on to the next part of the day. Slowly.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

tea!tea!
tea!

Chinatown, Bangkok
I can't escape China...I can't escape China...
I can't escape China...

Chinatown, Bangkok
DurianDurian
Durian

Not only does the smell linger, it follows you.
CrabsCrabs
Crabs

Chinatown
Indian foodIndian food
Indian food

Little India, Bangkok


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb