Songkran Bangkok and Pattaya 2012


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 1st 2012
Published: June 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Silom Road 30 secs
2: Silom Road very wet 25 secs
“Songkran Festival, April 12-15, is the traditional Thai New Year. This is the time for Thais to pay homage to Buddha images, clean their houses, and sprinkle water on their elders in a show of respect. Anyone who ventures out on the streets is likely to get a thorough dousing of water, all in good fun, but also quite welcome at the peak of the hot season.”


http://www.swp.in.th/songkran.html



Songkran is my favourite time to visit Thailand. It is hot and I will get very wet and covered in white powder . I will also see most Thai people enjoying their national three day holiday with their friends and family and the smiles in some of my photos show you the joy and happiness of the Thai people at this time.

Songkran is celebrated at various times in Thailand. From April 12 to 15 I like to stay in Bangkok for Songkran and then go to Pattaya for April 19 Songkran celebrations. As seen in previous blog posts Songkran in the country areas like Korat is a great experience if the opportunity arises to visit there.

On April 12 I usually take the Chao Phraya
Pattaya SongkranPattaya SongkranPattaya Songkran

The joy of Songkran
River boat to the pier near Khao San Road which I really enjoy because I love the river cruise and also there is a great family atmosphere in the late morning and afternoon at Khao San Road and surrounding sois (streets). Maybe I am getting older and sillier but I had a tear in my eye just seeing everyone so happy and it made me realise just how fortunate I was to be there and why I love going to Thailand.

In the early evening I venture to Silom Road which is a mass of people but usually very safe. I have never felt in any danger but foolishly went for a walk after midnight when some of the crowd had been drinking a bit too much. Some teenagers were fooling around and as I walked past one pushed the other and accidently hit my forehead just above the eye with his head. I had a few drinks previously and did not feel too much pain but a few people rushed over and told me I was bleeding heavily and helped me to get to the hospital which I appreciated. The doctors, nurses and staff at Bangkok Christian Hospital
Lumphini Park Lumphini Park Lumphini Park

I always walk here when I am staying near Silom
on Silom road were great and I was stitched up and back on my way to my hotel in thirty minutes. No great damage done but I will be more careful in the future about where I walk late at night.

In Pattaya the tradition for Songkran is to walk with my friends along Beach Road most of the day and into the early evening which I enjoy very much. On other days we had a BBQ/pool party and a cruise to the nearby island Koh Lahn with it's beautiful beaches, always a great day out

Just north of Pattaya and a short drive there are some wonderful locations for swimming, relaxing and also some great restaurants. I like the beach at Baan Amphur best for swimming. There is a great restaurant overlooking Baan Amphur called Rimpa Lapin which has some of the best food that I have tasted in Thailand at a very reasonable price and a great view over the beach at night. We also went to Bang Saray Beach which is a better location to admire the view than for swimming but a very nice place sit on a mat under the shade of a
Chao Phraya RiverChao Phraya RiverChao Phraya River

I would not miss a crusie on the river and for about 20 baht one of the bargain tours available in Thailand
tree and to have a few drinks and share food with some good friends.

After Songkran had finished it was very hot in Thailand, hotter than I had ever experienced there. I was supposed to go to Korat to see the Thai family that I have stayed with many times and try to always visit when I am in Thailand. It was really too hot to travel comfortably so I promised that I will go there next time when i return to Thailand in September.

Kop khun khrap - Thank you

Sawatdee khrap - Goodbye

Pob gan mai - See you again soon

Click on any of the 51 photos if you want a larger view


Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Chao Phraya RiverChao Phraya River
Chao Phraya River

Songkran fun on the next boat
Khao San RoadKhao San Road
Khao San Road

Get your weapons !!


Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb