Bangkok Day II


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 28th 2006
Published: June 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

HAPPY 50th BLOG TO ME! It's been tough, but we've made it to 50 - a big thank you to all those who have endured my ramblings for the past 9 months...it's been real. A cool banana experience.

At the moment I'm taking shelter from the Thai SUN in a pleasantly air-conditioned internet cafe. I've been walking around all day (ALL DAY isn't so impressive when it's only 14:35...) but it's been HOT. I've decided to leave Bangkok and head to Chang Mai - where you can do jungle treks and visit hill tribes. Even though I'm sure the public buses are the cheapest way to get there...I'm opting for the tourist filled 'VIP buses'. This is my grand plan to meet other travellers.
The bus takes 10 hours and costs 300 Baht. I'm sure I was ripped off, and if anyone is heading the same way, make sure to pay LESS!! I also decided to send my tent home. This is because my tent is a heavy accessory which is truly unnecessary here in Thailand. I also sent a bunch of winter wear which I won't need,...let's keep our fingers crossed that it's WARM the day I land in London!
My view of Khao San Road has changed in the past 24 hours. My revelation is mainly due to a 'don't be an idiot' email from a friend...and I have to agree with his viewpoint. There is a lot less hassle, dirt, and cows here than in India. I think the minimal hassle that I received yesterday was purely bad luck, because today I've been walking along the road, and have only had very friendly hassle (just quiet 'give you good price' statements). And unlike India, there are backpackers EVERYWHERE.
Just for interests sake - I'll tell you what they sell on the street. Most stalls sell clothing - lot's of 'Billabong''Ripcurl, and similar grands for guys, and lot's of nice tops, fisherman trousers, and flowy skirts for girls. Price, however, seems to vary quite a bit,...and I'm hoping the day before I fly back to Finland I'll be in a bargaining mood! The starting price for most tops hang around the 150-200 Baht area. Although I DID buy 3 no-brand tops for 100Baht today. They also sell jewellery ('hippie kind') and there are tailors EVERYWHERE so you can get suits or dresses made. I'll leave the big-time shopping for my last days, however - when I have a better understanding of Thai prices, as well as the amount of space in my bag!
Alright - so this evening at 18:00 I'm off to Chang Mai! Can't wait!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb