Bangkok!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 9th 2012
Published: February 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Bangkok on Monday, the flight was not too bad! Slept as much as I could and watched two films. The food was weird as I had to have vegan meals, so missed out on the cheesecake that Anwen got to it and later yoghurt. When we arrived we sorted out all our transport and accommodation for the rest of Thailand as well as flights to Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. We didn't do much tonight as we were so tired after two days travelling so got an early night fresh for tomorrow.

Driving around Bangkok is mental. We got on a tok tok which took us sightseeing for free as long as we stopped in a jewellery shop and a clothes shop to have a look around. We went to see the giant Bhudda and the lucky Bhudda, where a guy showed us how to do the Bhuddist prayer, and climbed up the Golden moutain. The view is so contrasting of magnificent rich buildings and run down huts! Had a walk around the food stalls and markets this evening. The food looks so good! Bought myself a dress and some fresh pineapple and mango.

On Wednesday we took a boat ride on the canal, bought a flower necklace from a floating market, it was nice but the boat made me feel sick! Hope this doesn't keep happening as we are taking a few ferries later in the week. This afternoon we went to see the Grand Palace! It was very strange as people kept telling us that it is open at different times! They do this to stop you going though I can't figure out why! To visit the palace you have to wear long sleeves and full lengths trousers, we baked! It was worth it though as the palace is amazing! All the buildings are made of tiny tiles of different colours, I loved the turquoise and there is so much gold!!! The tok tok drivers try to get you to go with them all the time but they were offering 100 bhat! (currency here) we refused and managed to haggle down to 45 bhat! This was quite hilarious! My haggling skills are improving.

Today (thursday) we went on a trip to Ayutthaya, the ancient city 1 hour north of Bangkok. Here we saw a lot of ruins of old palaces and temples. This was interesting at first but got repetative, and there are only so many broken buildings and Bhuddas I can see!! The second half of the trip took us to Bang Pa-In palace (which still stands) this was much nicer to see and again very beautiful buildings. Had a snooze on the bus back and listened to my music...nice to feel a touch of home. For food tonight I had bruschetta and a banana crepe, I have eaten all Thai food for the last 3 days so I needed a change.

In general we have had a good first few days, the weather is so hot I am constantly sweating (sorry!) and I have burnt the back of my neck which is very painful at the moment. Tomorrow we leave Bangkok at 7pm and travel by bus to Koh Toa - an island on the South East coast famous for diving and snorkling. This will make a nice change from the hustle and bustle of the Bangkok streets and I am very much looking forward to the beach! :D

Advertisement



9th February 2012

Yo Biatch
I AM GLAD THAT YOU'RE HAVING SUCH AN AWESOME TIME! I think your next blog should involve pictures if you can (which you probably won't be able to, but that's ok) :)

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb