Bangkok baby!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 7th 2011
Published: December 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so not much to tell so far. Been in Bangkok just over 24 hours now. Day 1 consisted of a lot or walking around in circles trying not to look lost whilst batting off attempts from people trying to sell me a suit or tuk tuk ride. Found a nice little guesthouse with a room the size of a prison cell but hey, at 3 quid a night who's complaining!I'm staying just off the Ko Sahn Road so it's still pretty crazy but not quite as mad as staying there would be.

Spent the evening drinking with a 40 odd year old bloke from London who's clearly in denial about the ageing process as he takes 6 weeks a year out to do pretty much what I'm doing. Was nice to have someone to chat to and get some advice on what to do.

Late night, beer and 24 hours without sleep meant that I slept through until 2.30pm this afternoon so after geeting a lovely cold shower I headed out to find the express boats that go up and down the Chao Praya river in Bangkok. The boats are pretty much like buses, ferrying commuters, monks, school kids and tourists up and down the river dropping off at various places. Got off at the last stop, walked around for 45 minutes in which time I didn't see a single western face and then headed back for the boat.

Tomorrow I'll be jumping back on the boat to go and visit the Grand Palace and see a couple of temples, as long as I can get my ass up in the morning, and then working out whether to head east into Laos as per my plans or go north and see a bit more of Thailand 1st.

Anyways, missing you all loads, will try and keep this up but can't promise anything! Laters, T x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb