Siam Square, part 2


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 16th 2011
Published: October 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm conscious that I'm writing far too much on these blogs. You must all be bored to tears. With that in mind, I decided not to do too much today, therefore there's not a lot to write. All of which I'm sure will lead to you breathing huge sighs of relief.

I traipsed back to Siam Square today to see Paul (after unsuccessful mission late last week). It's baking today and very helpfully, Mr Tuk-Tuk (note, not real name) dropped me a sweaty walk away from Madame Tussauds. Route march later and I'm there - realising I look like a battered backpacker rather than the businesswoman I once was. Oh wait, I've never really been that - that image conjures up suits and sensible heels, when I'm a casual but killer heels kind of girl. Anyway, bless him, he chose not to point out that my hair is practically in dreads and my clothes need a good wash - very kind indeed, all things considered.

I then went for a mooch over to the MBK centre to do some shopping for presents. What an experience - whole floors full of traders, all wanting to sell you their goods, all willing for you to pay less than half of the starting price. I love this - why can't I do this in shopping malls at home?! One whole floor was dedicated to electronics - where you can pick up iPhone 5s (who knew?!) for less than £50...ipad 3s (who knew part 2?!) for £100. Bargain. Witnessed a few of the great British gullibles falling for these and others and made for such entertaining viewing, I stayed until evening.

And that, as they say, is that. Apart from going for a quick beer - and on that subject, I'm sticking with Singha to avoid the Evertonian Chang...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb